Man, I do not miss this time of year at my old job, where my boss would blithely take the last 2 months of the year off because she had so much time saved, and then merry hell would break loose because OF COURSE you fall behind when the person who does more than 30% of the editing is gone for 2 months.
Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
Our vacation policies are very generous, but we can only carry over 40 hours, and those must be used in Q4 (Jan-March) or they disappear.
Sick time accrues up to 18 days, though, so if you have a friendly boss it's pretty easy to take time off for whatever reason if you need to. (I took half a sick day to get my driver's license renewed...there was an eye test, so it was kind of a doctor's appointment?)
[Our fiscal year ends in March, but our PTO is calculated based on the calendar. I do not understand corporations.]
We can only rollover like 1/3 of our yearly allotted time, and ONLY with manager approval (which is often denied). Then it must be used in Q1. I never have rollover, but I only have 10 days per year.
One company I worked at we couldn't carry any over. Which was cool in a "I used all my vacation" way but sucked for January and Frbruary. Last company was 40 hours, I think? This one is 160 hours (!) but they also have twice a year when you can sell back vacation days for money. Which is also a nice option if you want.
but they also have twice a year when you can sell back vacation days for money. Which is also a nice option if you want.
that is awesome. Not that I would be able to do it at this place, but when I had 4 weeks of vacation and no money, yeah, that would have been nice.
I worked one place where people could give vacation days to other employees, in very small amounts and in special hardship circumstances, but that was cool.
Man, I did a Zappo's search, and some of the prices on loafers are really making me appreciate my $25 State Streets more. (Checks shoe) Except these new ones say Hunter's Bay, even though I swear it's the same shoe. Weird.
Anyway, Amy, is this the style you're looking for?
I worked one place where people could give vacation days to other employees, in very small amounts and in special hardship circumstances, but that was cool.
Oh, that is cool! I would love that.
I worked one place where people could give vacation days to other employees, in very small amounts and in special hardship circumstances, but that was cool.
The looniversity did that, and it was, in sheer being-a-corporate-mensch terms, one of the best benefits programs I've ever known.
ok, benefits open enrollment is DONE. Now to see how much FSA money I have left for the year and MAKE ALL THE DR. APPTS.
The only different thing we get with time off is that we can get one paid day off a year to volunteer for charity if we do it with at least one other coworker.
I am looking at the clothes on all sorts of shows (Revenge right now, working from home) with a very purposeful eye--trying to imagine how much they cost, how you can "get the look for less" and also how I can closest approximate the look from my wardrobe. No, I don't have that black and white dress, but I do have another one I can wear with a thin purple belt instead of red. LOOK AT ME NOT WANTING TO SPEND MONEY.
This is me trying to bury my urges for Joan's white pintuck cotton dress--I can't wear even vaguely sheer white clothes since I haven't found my skin's magic underwear colour yet. And I have no idea why everything should seem so extra transparent on me, but that's probably just paranoia.