Death is your art. You make it with your hands day after day. That final gasp, that look of peace. And part of you is desperate to know: What's it like? Where does it lead you? And now you see, that's the secret. Not the punch you didn't throw or the kicks you didn't land. She really wanted it. Every Slayer has a death wish. Even you.

Spike ,'Conversations with Dead People'


Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This  

Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.


msbelle - Nov 19, 2013 7:29:06 am PST #12424 of 30000
I remember the crazy days. 500 posts an hour. Nubmer! Natgbsb

ok, benefits open enrollment is DONE. Now to see how much FSA money I have left for the year and MAKE ALL THE DR. APPTS.


§ ita § - Nov 19, 2013 7:31:12 am PST #12425 of 30000
Well not canonically, no, but this is transformative fiction.

The only different thing we get with time off is that we can get one paid day off a year to volunteer for charity if we do it with at least one other coworker.

I am looking at the clothes on all sorts of shows (Revenge right now, working from home) with a very purposeful eye--trying to imagine how much they cost, how you can "get the look for less" and also how I can closest approximate the look from my wardrobe. No, I don't have that black and white dress, but I do have another one I can wear with a thin purple belt instead of red. LOOK AT ME NOT WANTING TO SPEND MONEY.

This is me trying to bury my urges for Joan's white pintuck cotton dress--I can't wear even vaguely sheer white clothes since I haven't found my skin's magic underwear colour yet. And I have no idea why everything should seem so extra transparent on me, but that's probably just paranoia.


Amy - Nov 19, 2013 7:33:19 am PST #12426 of 30000
Because books.

chrismg, yes! Thank you! I mean, I'd love if it they had the penny detail and all, but that shape is much more what I want.


brenda m - Nov 19, 2013 8:05:22 am PST #12427 of 30000
If you're going through hell/keep on going/don't slow down/keep your fear from showing/you might be gone/'fore the devil even knows you're there

One company I worked at we couldn't carry any over. Which was cool in a "I used all my vacation" way but sucked for January and Frbruary.

We can't roll over at all, but you don't have to build it back up before you can take time in Jan/Feb. (And informally usually managers will let a day or two of rollover into those months.)


Strix - Nov 19, 2013 8:08:59 am PST #12428 of 30000
A dress should be tight enough to show you're a woman but loose enough to flee from zombies. — Ginger

ita, I have no idea how the bras are constructucted, but [link] might bring some skin-tone joy.

ETA: construcucucucted. Yep.


Matt the Bruins fan - Nov 19, 2013 8:12:31 am PST #12429 of 30000
You have to remember that being a 5-time Olympic medalist means Hilary Knight has been playing hockey at an elite level at least 16 years. It's impossible for her to be a teenage girl less than 16 years old, thus the President's complete lack of interest.

We get to roll over three weeks' worth, but I currently have 97 hours of vacation time to use or loose (213 hours total), and other than my week of Florida vacation in June I've been able to take off less than three whole days all year.

When the current project finishes (allegedly Friday, if the end date doesn't change YET AGAIN before then), I am disappearing like D.B. Cooper until the start of December.


le nubian - Nov 19, 2013 8:20:11 am PST #12430 of 30000
"And to be clear, I am the hell. And the high water."

The Addams Family living room was pink.

[link]


Zenkitty - Nov 19, 2013 8:26:03 am PST #12431 of 30000
Every now and then, I think I might actually be a little odd.

We can only roll over 10 hours! Which is why I'm taking off 2 weeks at the holidays and every Friday until the end of the year. Not gonna lose vacation time this year, and not working on my vacation days this year, either!


Jesse - Nov 19, 2013 8:37:32 am PST #12432 of 30000
Sometimes I trip on how happy we could be.

We can roll over 10 days (in September), which I did this year, so I'll be getting a nice fat payout when I leave. I would like to be able to donate some! That's nice.

They used to have a crazy sick leave policy here where they didn't have short-term disability or maternity leave, but you got six weeks of "sick time" starting in your third year. Apparently there were people using that time for vacations, so they do it like a normal company now.


Consuela - Nov 19, 2013 8:41:03 am PST #12433 of 30000
We are Buffistas. This isn't our first apocalypse. -- Pix

The federal government allows rollover but only a certain amount. Long-time staff and senior managers have a big pile of use-or-lose leave to burn through at the end of the calendar year, usually. The result of which is that it's almost impossible to get anything done between Thanksgiving and New Year's at any federal agency, because nobody's there to approve/review/sign the paperwork.

Me, I have ALL the leave. In the sense of having plenty of time to do things, but not so much money to do them with.

This morning I went running with my sister & BIL and then did laundry and made a batch of these cookies. They came out really good! And I sensibly put a bunch in the freezer so I won't eat them all.

This afternoon I do my first volunteer shift at the local food bank, which supplies food to one in six of Alameda County residents.

Damn, this economy sucks.