Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
The only different thing we get with time off is that we can get one paid day off a year to volunteer for charity if we do it with at least one other coworker.
I am looking at the clothes on all sorts of shows (Revenge right now, working from home) with a very purposeful eye--trying to imagine how much they cost, how you can "get the look for less" and also how I can closest approximate the look from my wardrobe. No, I don't have
that
black and white dress, but I do have another one I can wear with a thin purple belt instead of red. LOOK AT ME NOT WANTING TO SPEND MONEY.
This is me trying to bury my urges for Joan's white pintuck cotton dress--I can't wear even vaguely sheer white clothes since I haven't found my skin's magic underwear colour yet. And I have no idea why everything should seem so extra transparent on me, but that's probably just paranoia.
chrismg, yes! Thank you! I mean, I'd love if it they had the penny detail and all, but that shape is much more what I want.
One company I worked at we couldn't carry any over. Which was cool in a "I used all my vacation" way but sucked for January and Frbruary.
We can't roll over at all, but you don't have to build it back up before you can take time in Jan/Feb. (And informally usually managers will let a day or two of rollover into those months.)
ita, I have no idea how the bras are constructucted, but [link] might bring some skin-tone joy.
ETA: construcucucucted. Yep.
We get to roll over three weeks' worth, but I currently have 97 hours of vacation time to use or loose (213 hours total), and other than my week of Florida vacation in June I've been able to take off less than three whole days all year.
When the current project finishes (allegedly Friday, if the end date doesn't change YET AGAIN before then), I am disappearing like D.B. Cooper until the start of December.
The Addams Family living room was pink.
[link]
We can only roll over 10 hours! Which is why I'm taking off 2 weeks at the holidays and every Friday until the end of the year. Not gonna lose vacation time this year, and not working on my vacation days this year, either!
We can roll over 10 days (in September), which I did this year, so I'll be getting a nice fat payout when I leave. I would like to be able to donate some! That's nice.
They used to have a crazy sick leave policy here where they didn't have short-term disability or maternity leave, but you got six weeks of "sick time" starting in your third year. Apparently there were people using that time for vacations, so they do it like a normal company now.
The federal government allows rollover but only a certain amount. Long-time staff and senior managers have a big pile of use-or-lose leave to burn through at the end of the calendar year, usually. The result of which is that it's almost impossible to get anything done between Thanksgiving and New Year's at any federal agency, because nobody's there to approve/review/sign the paperwork.
Me, I have ALL the leave. In the sense of having plenty of time to do things, but not so much money to do them with.
This morning I went running with my sister & BIL and then did laundry and made a batch of these cookies. They came out really good! And I sensibly put a bunch in the freezer so I won't eat them all.
This afternoon I do my first volunteer shift at the local food bank, which supplies food to one in six of Alameda County residents.
Damn, this economy sucks.
Thanks--I requested a skin tone card, Strix. Can't hurt. if they have an underwear set that fits comfortably, I'd be bubbly happy. I've always envied the options Vortex's skin tones gives her (you wear purple, right? I'm wearing a purple bra under a green top with a loose semi-transparent knit, and FUCK IT. It's part of my colour scheme. When I leave the house, it will be in a purple skirt.