Here is some data: [link] My guesses were not bad!
Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
you people made me go buy stamps. did not buy Harry Potter, but I bought over $100 worth. That should last me a couple of years.
Oh, look at me, sitting here not working. Cannot focus. My self-evals were due nine days ago, I've got an issue going to the printer today and another one tomorrow, and I haven't even taken a shower yet. My brain is still in West Virginia driving through the mountains. Cannot focus. Don't wanna.
From a movie, I guess Star Wars (the real ones).
Both, it seems. Natalie Portman has a US stamp.
I might have thought once she might deserve great things, but she has repeatedly not earned it. It's nowhere as disappointing as LiLo, but I did also think she was going to be more amazing, so.
I am having a peeve at work- our vacation carry-over from year to year is "capped" at the amount we can earn in a year, so you can't ever have more than 2 years worth of vacation. If you don't use it, you lose it.
So, they send us a report telling us how many hours we will lose if we don't take some vacation. Except they don't say it that way -- they call them "hours to be capped". Which seems somehow grammatically or logically wrong to me in a way that irritates me every single year.
Am I insane?
Sophia, take your vacation. That is my only take-away. DO not lose it, do not let it build up. Take every Monday or Friday off from now til the end of the year. use it.
I will use it-- I only have 76 hours to use, and I will use 88 by the end of the year for theatre and holidays! Last year I lost a little, but I seriously have 5 weeks, and I am carrying over 5 weeks, so I have an enormous amount of vacation.
We can only roll over 40 hours here, so the end of the year is always an adventure of use it or lose it.
Man, I do not miss this time of year at my old job, where my boss would blithely take the last 2 months of the year off because she had so much time saved, and then merry hell would break loose because OF COURSE you fall behind when the person who does more than 30% of the editing is gone for 2 months.
Our vacation policies are very generous, but we can only carry over 40 hours, and those must be used in Q4 (Jan-March) or they disappear.
Sick time accrues up to 18 days, though, so if you have a friendly boss it's pretty easy to take time off for whatever reason if you need to. (I took half a sick day to get my driver's license renewed...there was an eye test, so it was kind of a doctor's appointment?)
[Our fiscal year ends in March, but our PTO is calculated based on the calendar. I do not understand corporations.]