Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
I am having a peeve at work- our vacation carry-over from year to year is "capped" at the amount we can earn in a year, so you can't ever have more than 2 years worth of vacation. If you don't use it, you lose it.
So, they send us a report telling us how many hours we will lose if we don't take some vacation. Except they don't say it that way -- they call them "hours to be capped". Which seems somehow grammatically or logically wrong to me in a way that irritates me every single year.
Am I insane?
Sophia, take your vacation. That is my only take-away. DO not lose it, do not let it build up. Take every Monday or Friday off from now til the end of the year. use it.
I will use it-- I only have 76 hours to use, and I will use 88 by the end of the year for theatre and holidays! Last year I lost a little, but I seriously have 5 weeks, and I am carrying over 5 weeks, so I have an enormous amount of vacation.
We can only roll over 40 hours here, so the end of the year is always an adventure of use it or lose it.
Man, I do not miss this time of year at my old job, where my boss would blithely take the last 2 months of the year off because she had so much time saved, and then merry hell would break loose because OF COURSE you fall behind when the person who does more than 30% of the editing is gone for 2 months.
Our vacation policies are very generous, but we can only carry over 40 hours, and those must be used in Q4 (Jan-March) or they disappear.
Sick time accrues up to 18 days, though, so if you have a friendly boss it's pretty easy to take time off for whatever reason if you need to. (I took half a sick day to get my driver's license renewed...there was an eye test, so it was kind of a doctor's appointment?)
[Our fiscal year ends in March, but our PTO is calculated based on the calendar. I do not understand corporations.]
We can only rollover like 1/3 of our yearly allotted time, and ONLY with manager approval (which is often denied). Then it must be used in Q1. I never have rollover, but I only have 10 days per year.
One company I worked at we couldn't carry any over. Which was cool in a "I used all my vacation" way but sucked for January and Frbruary. Last company was 40 hours, I think? This one is 160 hours (!) but they also have twice a year when you can sell back vacation days for money. Which is also a nice option if you want.
but they also have twice a year when you can sell back vacation days for money. Which is also a nice option if you want.
that is awesome. Not that I would be able to do it at this place, but when I had 4 weeks of vacation and no money, yeah, that would have been nice.
I worked one place where people could give vacation days to other employees, in very small amounts and in special hardship circumstances, but that was cool.
Man, I did a Zappo's search, and some of the prices on loafers are really making me appreciate my $25 State Streets more. (Checks shoe) Except these new ones say Hunter's Bay, even though I swear it's the same shoe. Weird.
Anyway, Amy, is this the style you're looking for?