Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
Scrappy, I'm so glad he's okay!
I ask people before I hug them, but I am generally pro-hugging. And kind of have to be, since random gothy teens I don't know will launch themselves at me for a hug while squeaking "OMG GOTHIC CHARM SCHOOL". It's cute.
I have started down the path of madness that is green smoothies for breakfast. I haven't even been doing it a week yet, but when I didn't have one yesterday, by dinnertime I realized I was craving one. I AM NOT THE SORT OF PERSON WHO CRAVES GREEN SMOOTHIES WHAT THE HELL.
Yipes, Scrappy! So glad he's okay. And wee piece of unasked for advice that you probably know already but I'm sharing anyway: Tegaderm bandages are the way to go with road rash. They keep the wound clean and promote healing.
Also? I am pro-hug. That will be tested this weekend most likely, but not necessarily in a bad way. The memorial for my sister is Sunday. There will be over 100 people there, and they will be sad, and many I will not have seen for years but I was once very close to them. There will be tears and hugs.
I didn't know tipping your cleaner was a thing. You're already paying them, and they're not underpaid with an assumption of tips like wait staff, right?
When I got one I looked--and there was a lot of different opinions, but most seemed to be "no, except a big tip at Christmas". Which I think is utterly ridiculous. I'm so against extra big tips at the holidays/once a year tips. Like, even if I have the same hairdresser all year, why should I tip her extra at Christmas? And if I don't have the same hairdresser all year/only go rarely, it's all the more silly. Mine is through a service, and I usually have the same person but not always--I generally tip, figuring they aren't getting all/much of the money, but who knows.
I AM NOT THE SORT OF PERSON WHO CRAVES GREEN SMOOTHIES WHAT THE HELL.
What are you putting in them? SOYLENT GREEN???
I am pro-hug. That will be tested this weekend most likely, but not necessarily in a bad way. The memorial for my sister is Sunday.
Oh man. Hugs indeed.
I'm glad your DH wasn't hurt too badly, Scrappy.
I'm fairly pro-hug with people I know. But I also know that quite a few people aren't comfortable with them, or not always. And I suck at reading body language. So I generally wait and just participate if the other person initiates.
I'm so against extra big tips at the holidays/once a year tips.
Some things get so ingrained that they're part of the landscape. Like, people shouldn't need tips period, right? But most of us work with that. Is the tip idea so precisely logical that it doesn't allow for seasonal variation without throwing the whole thing into disarray? Or is a token of the season to people who work for you who are now generations into factoring that into their budget just another cost of doing business?
I'm mostly with the latter.
Now that the nipple hug thing is in my head, I might die laughing next hug time.
OH MY GOD I JUST SNARKED AT SOMEONE TAKING A CIGARETTE BREAK. I need to apologise so profusely when he comes back. That was so out of line. Shit. I feel awful.
I feel like a seasonal "happy holidays!" extra $1 to the barista is one thing. Or if you're in a New York building where the tradition is "yearly we tip the doorman/super" kind of thing which is totally expected. But I think if I tip my hairdresser 20% throughout the year, I do not see why I should tip her the price of an extra haircut (which is what I've often seen recommended) at Christmas just because it's Christmas. I don't get paid extra at Christmas! All it does is make me not want to make a hair appointment in December, then.
I still maintain that if I am paying someone directly for a service, that's what they get, whether they're my dentist or mechanic or what have you. If they want more money they should charge more for the service they offer.
In a restaurant I'm paying for the food, and the service that brings it to my table, refills my drink, and checks on me periodically rather than me just ordering it at a counter is worth extra. Likewise, in a hotel I'm paying for the use of the room; the people who clean up after me, make the bed, put in new rolls of bath tissue, etc. are enhancing that baseline experience and warrant a gratuity.
FINALLY the power is back, along with the internet.
http://imgs.xkcd.com/comics/shoot_for_the_moon.png
Everyone act casual.