I feel like a seasonal "happy holidays!" extra $1 to the barista is one thing. Or if you're in a New York building where the tradition is "yearly we tip the doorman/super" kind of thing which is totally expected. But I think if I tip my hairdresser 20% throughout the year, I do not see why I should tip her the price of an extra haircut (which is what I've often seen recommended) at Christmas just because it's Christmas. I don't get paid extra at Christmas! All it does is make me not want to make a hair appointment in December, then.
Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
I still maintain that if I am paying someone directly for a service, that's what they get, whether they're my dentist or mechanic or what have you. If they want more money they should charge more for the service they offer.
In a restaurant I'm paying for the food, and the service that brings it to my table, refills my drink, and checks on me periodically rather than me just ordering it at a counter is worth extra. Likewise, in a hotel I'm paying for the use of the room; the people who clean up after me, make the bed, put in new rolls of bath tissue, etc. are enhancing that baseline experience and warrant a gratuity.
FINALLY the power is back, along with the internet.
http://imgs.xkcd.com/comics/shoot_for_the_moon.png
Everyone act casual.
What are you putting in them? SOYLENT GREEN???
Well, I am in the Hannibal fandom ...
All it does is make me not want to make a hair appointment in December, then.
I was just going to say that's exactly what I do, but then I realized I have an appointment on the 22nd.
My stylist is the salon owner, who I've heard you're not supposed to tip in the first place, but that makes even less sense to me.
I'll throw in an extra $10 and call it a day.
I give my massage therapist a big tip at Christmas time, but that's mostly because it's when I'm getting my half-price birthday massage. I do kind of avoid getting a haircut around The Holidays.
I AM NOT THE SORT OF PERSON WHO CRAVES GREEN SMOOTHIES WHAT THE HELL.
Just pretend it was something whipped up in the lab by a mad scientist and you might get over that feeling.
Just pretend it was something whipped up in the lab by a mad scientist and you might get over that feeling
Monster mash!
I've had to force myself into not eating breakfast at other times of the day, but I make four or five helpings of oatmeal at a time, and they're just there, and blueberries and nom...I pretty much always crave them. Luckily I found an allowed pancake recipe, because I was theoretically (but not practically, not at all) boring myself--it's been steel cut oats every morning since low gly which was...some months now. I should make a note.
Whether I tipped a cleaning person would involve whether I'm employing them directly (thus no employer is taking a cut of the money).