Willow, check you out! Witch-Fu!

Buffy ,'Lessons'


Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This  

Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.


SuziQ - Nov 15, 2013 8:48:24 am PST #12096 of 30000
Back tattoos of the mother is that you are absolutely right - Ame

Scrappy, I'm glad DH is ok. That just sounds incredibly scary. Again, thanks be for protective gear.

I spent 2 hours this morning working on 3 expense sheets. Arrrggg. I don't mind the travel but I need to be in a better habit of submitting my expenses immediately. Though, now that I think of it, I actually haven't gotten my work credit card bill yet - so at least I'm ahead of that. I'll take the small victory.


Consuela - Nov 15, 2013 8:48:39 am PST #12097 of 30000
We are Buffistas. This isn't our first apocalypse. -- Pix

Fuck, Scrappy. So glad he's okay.

I didn't know tipping your cleaner was a thing. You're already paying them, and they're not underpaid with an assumption of tips like wait staff, right?

I did Zombies, Run! again today. Unfortunately, since I was running/walking in the hills, I got eaten by the zombies twice. Woops. Still, it's a pretty fun app: it really makes you want to get out there and do it, and the zombie chases are good interval training. And there's a whole game-play element on the website (which I think I will ignore in favor of job-hunting).


Steph L. - Nov 15, 2013 8:50:01 am PST #12098 of 30000
this mess was yours / now your mess is mine

Scrappy, yikes! So glad he's okay!

I'm happy to hug people I love, and willing to hug people I like, but would just as soon skip it in general.

My hug objections are regarding people who either (1) I don't know/barely know/clearly and publicly don't like, or (2) come at me for a hug when I've indicated I don't want one, either verbally or by stepping away/keeping my arms by my side/holding a large item. Hug assaults from those people get the dead-fish-one-arm-side-arm-1-second-pat-pat-pat-step-FAR-back-quickly. The goddamn kink community assumes that EVERYONE wants Huggles Yay!!!, which is ridiculous, because I don't know or like 75% of the people at any given event. (I also LOATHE the word "huggles" about as much as I loathed George W. Bush.)

People I like get awesome hugs. I am squooshy and have a big bosom, and I am given to understand this is quite nice for a hug.

We had a family party with my Dad's side of the family last weekend, and I don't see them really often. My cousin's son (18-ish) is on the autism spectrum, and even though we spent a long time hanging out and talking about My Little Pony (he's a proud Brony) and movies in general (he loves movies passionately), when we left, he didn't really move for a hug, and it occurred to me that he might not like them, but also might not be able to read body language, so I asked him if he wanted a hug, and he said, "Yes, thank you. I like hugs!"

All hug interactions should be so clear and easy.


Frankenbuddha - Nov 15, 2013 8:50:46 am PST #12099 of 30000
"We are the Goon Squad and we're coming to town...Beep! Beep!" - David Bowie, "Fashion"

So tempted to COMM &ita's& nipple-aiming comments out of context, but where would it end.


Atropa - Nov 15, 2013 9:31:58 am PST #12100 of 30000
The artist formerly associated with cupcakes.

Scrappy, I'm so glad he's okay!

I ask people before I hug them, but I am generally pro-hugging. And kind of have to be, since random gothy teens I don't know will launch themselves at me for a hug while squeaking "OMG GOTHIC CHARM SCHOOL". It's cute.

I have started down the path of madness that is green smoothies for breakfast. I haven't even been doing it a week yet, but when I didn't have one yesterday, by dinnertime I realized I was craving one. I AM NOT THE SORT OF PERSON WHO CRAVES GREEN SMOOTHIES WHAT THE HELL.


Burrell - Nov 15, 2013 9:45:55 am PST #12101 of 30000
Why did Darth Vader cross the road? To get to the Dark Side!

Yipes, Scrappy! So glad he's okay. And wee piece of unasked for advice that you probably know already but I'm sharing anyway: Tegaderm bandages are the way to go with road rash. They keep the wound clean and promote healing.

Also? I am pro-hug. That will be tested this weekend most likely, but not necessarily in a bad way. The memorial for my sister is Sunday. There will be over 100 people there, and they will be sad, and many I will not have seen for years but I was once very close to them. There will be tears and hugs.


meara - Nov 15, 2013 9:54:39 am PST #12102 of 30000

I didn't know tipping your cleaner was a thing. You're already paying them, and they're not underpaid with an assumption of tips like wait staff, right?

When I got one I looked--and there was a lot of different opinions, but most seemed to be "no, except a big tip at Christmas". Which I think is utterly ridiculous. I'm so against extra big tips at the holidays/once a year tips. Like, even if I have the same hairdresser all year, why should I tip her extra at Christmas? And if I don't have the same hairdresser all year/only go rarely, it's all the more silly. Mine is through a service, and I usually have the same person but not always--I generally tip, figuring they aren't getting all/much of the money, but who knows.


meara - Nov 15, 2013 9:55:30 am PST #12103 of 30000

I AM NOT THE SORT OF PERSON WHO CRAVES GREEN SMOOTHIES WHAT THE HELL.

What are you putting in them? SOYLENT GREEN???

I am pro-hug. That will be tested this weekend most likely, but not necessarily in a bad way. The memorial for my sister is Sunday.

Oh man. Hugs indeed.


Calli - Nov 15, 2013 9:55:52 am PST #12104 of 30000
I must obey the inscrutable exhortations of my soul—Calvin and Hobbs

I'm glad your DH wasn't hurt too badly, Scrappy.

I'm fairly pro-hug with people I know. But I also know that quite a few people aren't comfortable with them, or not always. And I suck at reading body language. So I generally wait and just participate if the other person initiates.


§ ita § - Nov 15, 2013 10:04:54 am PST #12105 of 30000
Well not canonically, no, but this is transformative fiction.

I'm so against extra big tips at the holidays/once a year tips.

Some things get so ingrained that they're part of the landscape. Like, people shouldn't need tips period, right? But most of us work with that. Is the tip idea so precisely logical that it doesn't allow for seasonal variation without throwing the whole thing into disarray? Or is a token of the season to people who work for you who are now generations into factoring that into their budget just another cost of doing business?

I'm mostly with the latter.

Now that the nipple hug thing is in my head, I might die laughing next hug time.

OH MY GOD I JUST SNARKED AT SOMEONE TAKING A CIGARETTE BREAK. I need to apologise so profusely when he comes back. That was so out of line. Shit. I feel awful.