We can only roll over 10 hours! Which is why I'm taking off 2 weeks at the holidays and every Friday until the end of the year. Not gonna lose vacation time this year, and not working on my vacation days this year, either!
Gunn ,'Power Play'
Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
We can roll over 10 days (in September), which I did this year, so I'll be getting a nice fat payout when I leave. I would like to be able to donate some! That's nice.
They used to have a crazy sick leave policy here where they didn't have short-term disability or maternity leave, but you got six weeks of "sick time" starting in your third year. Apparently there were people using that time for vacations, so they do it like a normal company now.
The federal government allows rollover but only a certain amount. Long-time staff and senior managers have a big pile of use-or-lose leave to burn through at the end of the calendar year, usually. The result of which is that it's almost impossible to get anything done between Thanksgiving and New Year's at any federal agency, because nobody's there to approve/review/sign the paperwork.
Me, I have ALL the leave. In the sense of having plenty of time to do things, but not so much money to do them with.
This morning I went running with my sister & BIL and then did laundry and made a batch of these cookies. They came out really good! And I sensibly put a bunch in the freezer so I won't eat them all.
This afternoon I do my first volunteer shift at the local food bank, which supplies food to one in six of Alameda County residents.
Damn, this economy sucks.
Thanks--I requested a skin tone card, Strix. Can't hurt. if they have an underwear set that fits comfortably, I'd be bubbly happy. I've always envied the options Vortex's skin tones gives her (you wear purple, right? I'm wearing a purple bra under a green top with a loose semi-transparent knit, and FUCK IT. It's part of my colour scheme. When I leave the house, it will be in a purple skirt.
Inside-out Hulk?
Things that irk me, take 123: When I must, for diplomacy's sake, profusely thank someone for finally bestirring himself to do his goddam job.
We can take an Unused Vacation Payout once a year, but you have to leave 40 hours. Accruals carryover to the next year with a max of two years' worth. "Employees reaching maximum accruals will be required to use vacation leave", I'm not sure how that's enforced.
When I must, for diplomacy's sake, profusely thank someone for finally bestirring himself to do his goddam job.
Wait, you work at [redacted] with [omitted] too?
The Feds allow rollover 6 weeks of annual leave. (I still have 3.5 hours of use-or-lose, which I plan to use one quiet afternoon when the weather's nice.) No limit on rolling over sick leave. Starting the first of the year, if you retire with unused sick leave, you can add it to your service time for pension annuity purposes.
I get lots of vacation at my current job, but due to the need to maintain staffing levels, even surrounding holidays, one may not get approved to take it. For example, I was explicitly told I would never be allowed to take 3 weeks off in a row. And I am not likely to be getting Dec. 27-31 off despite asking for them because someone is retiring and someone is having open heart surgery. Luckily I am only one of 2 people in my office with school-aged children, so I should get spring break.