I can't believe I'm drooling over black A line skirts. Yet...
Which is a pity, because I want that and Myrtle Snow's red ruffled gloves.
Oh, I'd love to wear a pair of too much red gloves with that houndstooth dress, except I absolutely very much do not wear gloves, unless it's very very much glove weather.
... and now I am stuck in the vintage section of Etsy, browsing wide-brimmed black hats.
Ooh, I always forget about vintage Etsy.
See also: my lack of motivation to do anything at all productive today.
And I'm stuck explaining the degree of profanity of "bloody" and "blood" in the Empire and its remnants. When did my day degrade to this level? I suspect it's because my cubemate has been in the office 12 hours now. He gets to experience sunrise and sunset from the office. Good thing he's got an ocean view.
My inbox blew up while I was at the conference today, and I've been scheduled in a block of meetings from 11am to 1:30pm tomorrow. I'm barely functional on regular doses of cold meds, so I may be taking meetings from the couch.
Open the kimono makes me hurl. Ew. Sexist AND racist at the same time, whee intersectionality?
My boss keeps using the phrase "lift up their skirts" when referrring to due diligence. I... suppose I should be grateful he left the racism out of it?
Huh. This female model is modelling menswear masculinely, and one critic told her to stop playacting as trans. Isn't she, perhaps, playacting as male? Or, perhaps, she is dressing (as she says) how she wants to? And if she makes more money for it (big fish, small pond) does that make it bad?
Obviously, I'm all "fuck the gender binary when and if you want to." I really think it's a bit much to accuse her negatively unless you're turning her words against her. You have to have a pretty insider position to tell "playing trans" from "playing male". I'd be surprised if a Slate writer has it.
Thing is: I think she started this because she was getting too old to model women's wear. So that adds a layer of complexity on to this.
Which I think is perfectly fine! Why shouldn't she be able to model menswear? The importance of gender to some people doesn't have to extend to or apply in the same way to other people, and she isn't saying or doing anything about anyone else's life, is she?
I remember some criticism of one of the male models that was modeling womenswear, but clearly I have no idea if the same people object. I don't think it was the same reason at the most specific level, but there was a degree of "don't make light of the gender binary, this is life or death to some people" which I think is encroaching on their lack of gender giving a big enough fuck.
It really annoys me that she refers to herself and other people refer to her as a "male model." She is a woman modelling menswear.