Playgrounds or parks? That would seem to make a big difference.
'Safe'
Natter 68: Bork Bork Bork
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
Also, that law is crazy, right?
A little, but it does help the police and parents spot who isn't supposed to be there.
I could see restricting fenced-in playground areas, but not entire parks.
Those laws definitely exist in SF.
Although as far as I know, they're restricted to gated playgrounds and to a couple of small parks that don't have gates but are literally nothing but playground -- playstructure, sandbox, tiny seating area and that's it. Not picturesque, not restful or nature-filled, not someplace any grown-up would have any reason to want to sit down in unless they wanted to be around kids.
If this was just a citation for being in a park, period, that's a little bizarre.
I like to think there's a pretty big divide between "people w/o kids who want to sit in a park" and people who "aren't supposed to be there".
NPR ran a story recently about an 80yo woman who was ticketed for 'obstructing traffic' -- she was going as fast as she could with her walker, but the red light didn't hold long enough.
My non-scientific sampling of bumperstickers here in NE supports the thesis that there are more "Yankees Suck" stickers than one actually reading "Red Sox" or showing their logo. That is how deep the rivalry plays around here.
And yet, my Yankee fanatic (FANATIC) aunt gets nothing worse than friendly ribbing, as far as I've ever heard.
Although as far as I know, they're restricted to gated playgrounds and to a couple of small parks that don't have gates but are literally nothing but playground -- playstructure, sandbox, tiny seating area and that's it. Not picturesque, not restful or nature-filled, not someplace any grown-up would have any reason to want to sit down in unless they wanted to be around kids.
I don't know, Alta Plaza park's best view is from the children's playground, which is fairly large and occupies half the top south tier (tennis courts take up the rest). When I got to the top of the park I almost went to sit down there, until I saw the signs. I don't have a problem with the law, but it definitely took me by surprise.
ION, are camera tripods standardized as to the part that connects to the camera? IOW, can any (basic) tripod connect to any camera that has a tripod mounting thing on it?
You mean a threaded screw hole, tommyrot? Yes, almost all cameras have them.