It is supposed to be 93 here today. Three weeks ago it was snowing.
It's cold and rainy here, like it has been for 98% of May and what we've had of June. Bonus fun for me is that work on the HVAC system means it's almost as cold and damp inside as it is outside. I brought a scarf to work with me today. I really need it.
My boss said she would be here by 9:15 (45 minutes late), so I held off on getting more coffee until she got here, so we could go together (it's a thing).
She lied.
You've probably heard about Sarah Palin's version of Paul Revere's ride (it's about as accurate as most of her political and historical versions of anything). Well, now it seems that some of her devotees want to change the Wikipedia page on Revere and his ride to match her description. sigh
Toddson, Boing Boing has a great version of Sarah Revere's ride today, via Tom Tomorrow.
I'm not sure my stomach could stand it.
My non-scientific sampling of bumperstickers here in NE supports the thesis that there are more "Yankees Suck" stickers than one actually reading "Red Sox" or showing their logo. That is how deep the rivalry plays around here.
Two Women Ticketed For Eating Doughnuts In A Brooklyn Playground
The police may not be ticketing for smoking in the parks, but they are still ticketing parker visitors for crimes like...eating a doughnut in a playground. Yup, this weekend the police gave two young women in Bed-Stuy summonses for eating doughnuts in a playground while unaccompanied by a minor.
...
It was a glorious afternoon in early June when I took a friend of mine, who was visiting from New Haven, to Dough, an amazing doughnut shop in Bed-Stuy. Dough is tiny, but there was a park across the street, where I, as well as other doughnut lovers, had eaten doughnuts before. My friend and I entered the park, sat down on a bench and ate our doughnuts. Having finished, we sat there chatting for a few minutes.
As we were getting ready to move on, two officers approached us. Amongst themselves they debated whether the children’s toy next to us meant that we were there with a child. Then they asked us, “Are you here with a child?” We told them no. One of the cops moved on to the couple on a bench nearby, also ostensibly childless, while the other one asked for our IDs. We handed them over and soon we were being guarded by this cop as his partner took our IDs to their police car. My friend and I were confused. We had seen parks with gates that had a sign clearly stating that adults without children were not allowed in. This park had no such sign.
Now I'm wondering how many cities have laws about not being in parks without a child.
Also, that law is crazy, right?
Now I'm wondering how many cities have laws about not being in parks without a child.
Those laws definitely exist in SF.