Tracy: 'When you can't run, you crawl... and when you can't crawl, when you can't do that--' Zoe: 'You find someone to carry you.'

'The Message'


Natter 66: Get Your Kicks.  

Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, pandas, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.


bon bon - Jul 10, 2010 11:58:08 pm PDT #11687 of 30001
It's five thousand for kissing, ten thousand for snuggling... End of list.

Did he say something bad about the team and city he's leaving, or are people just feeling betrayed because he won't be hanging out at their place for barbecues in their fantasy lives?

I don't think people are pissed at LeBron simply because he left Cleveland and the entire city has issues with over-identification. But the way he handled the announcement of his choice of team was a massively douchey clusterfuck. I haven't enjoyed so much day-after shaming of an eye-popping miscalculation since Bobby Jindal's SotU response. It was bad, y'all. That's one reason it's still a topic. Like, here's just *one thing* that happened during the show watched by one in four Cleveland households: [link]

1. So here's LeBron James, sitting in a gymnasium full of children from the Boys and Girls Club, the charity that was to receive the proceeds from the event. Let's note the first thing: LeBron had a full hour to say anything he wanted, and might perhaps have used that time to talk about the Boys and Girls club, which was conceived for the express purpose of helping kids who don't have enough parental guidance -- kids like LeBron, for instance (whose biological father was an ex-con who was never there). LeBron instead chooses to have a show entirely about himself filled with navel-gazing commentators raving over his highlights, followed by Gray and his idiotic questions about whether or not LeBron bites his nails. Then, when Gray finally gets to a question about whether it might be hard to share the spotlight with Dwayne Wade and Chris Bosh, LeBron answers, "It's not about sharing. You know, it's about everybody having they own spotlight." That's his message to the Boys and Girls of America: It's not about sharing! I exploded in laughter when he said this. Even funnier, nobody commented on it. I mean, what's the problem? The kids got the proceeds, didn't they?


§ ita § - Jul 11, 2010 12:13:25 am PDT #11688 of 30001
Well not canonically, no, but this is transformative fiction.

Welcome home, Perkins.

Man, it's weird when the nurse you swear you don't know knows you're in for migraines and the next nurse lights up to see you. I swear I have no idea who these people are. Last week's nurses I do remember. Not these.


Nilly - Jul 11, 2010 2:44:29 am PDT #11689 of 30001
Swouncing

Skipping (stealing a couple of minutes in front of a university computer while my students are taking, why, yes, another exam I should grade) because, according to the Buffista Calendar, today is one of these lovely double Buffista events: it's both Abby's birthday, as well as - according to flea "If the Apocalypse Comes, Beep Me" Jul 11, 2006 2:48:26 pm PDT ) Dillo's.

Happy birthday, Abby! With lots of wishes for a great day and a wonderful year!

Happy birthday, Dillo, you big boy! With lots of wishes for your mom, your older sister, and all your family!

And, of course, lovely Sundays all around!

(Oh! And to anybody who is interested, enjoy the World Cup's finals today!)


flea - Jul 11, 2010 3:00:25 am PDT #11690 of 30001
information libertarian

Thank you Nilly! We (Dillo and I) were snuggling his his bed this morning, when he suddenly asked, "Am I four now?" "Yes!" I said. He then lifted the sheet and looked down at himself to see if anything was different, but agreed that he felt the same. Right now we are going through baby pictures on Flickr.

He wants to type: nnnnnnnjjjjjjpeter4


Calli - Jul 11, 2010 3:46:28 am PDT #11691 of 30001
I must obey the inscrutable exhortations of my soul—Calvin and Hobbs

Yeah, I haven't seen Olbermann enjoy mocking someone as much as LeBron since Bush & co. left office.

As far as idyllic summer memories go, I'm making some on this trip. I spent all yesterday in or next to the lake with my family, and they love the cottage I rented, so I feel all grown uppish and stuff. (As the way youngest in my generation, usually I've gone to someone else's place, which is nice and I've glad to be welcome. But sometimes it's just nice to be the host, you know?)

One downside is that my phone signal randomly switches over to a tower in Canada, at $15/MB, so keeping up with online stuff is sporadic. Still, I'm looking out my livingroom window at Lake Huron asI type this, so that makes up for any amount of doublechecking the carrier.


msbelle - Jul 11, 2010 5:30:39 am PDT #11692 of 30001
I remember the crazy days. 500 posts an hour. Nubmer! Natgbsb

Omg the movers are here and packing! They are in my stuff and it's terrifying. They are also packing really fast which is awesome! Flail flail!


ehab - Jul 11, 2010 5:39:09 am PDT #11693 of 30001
...all my words have been taken by my work. - Mala

I'm appealing to the hive mind here as I know there was a recent conversation about frozen bananas. I threw some ripe bananas in the freezer and pulled one out for a smoothie. It was impossible to get the peel off while still frozen. I ended up microwaving it briefly just to peel it, not ideal for a smoothie.

Do people freeze their bananas pre-peeled?


flea - Jul 11, 2010 5:41:53 am PDT #11694 of 30001
information libertarian

I peel and mash before freezing, because I usually use my frozen bananas in banana bread.


-t - Jul 11, 2010 6:23:55 am PDT #11695 of 30001
I am a woman of various inclinations and only some of the time are they to burn everything down in frustration

I freeze my bananas in their skins and then peel with a paring knife while thinking that I should have peeled them before freezing. Typically.


ehab - Jul 11, 2010 6:33:06 am PDT #11696 of 30001
...all my words have been taken by my work. - Mala

Heh -t that would be my experience too.

It's good to know that they don't turn into some kind of fiendish banana monster when frozen pre-peeled. I think I'll peel and skip the mashing.