You got all kinds of learnin' and you made me look the fool without tryin', and yet here I am with a gun to your head. That's 'cause I got people with me. People who trust each other, who do for each other, and ain't always lookin' for the advantage.

Mal ,'Our Mrs. Reynolds'


Natter 66: Get Your Kicks.  

Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, pandas, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.


Cass - Jul 10, 2010 5:38:07 pm PDT #11674 of 30001
Bob's learned to live with tragedy, but he knows that this tragedy is one that won't ever leave him or get better.

The Heat can potentially get him a ring too. That matters. I say from the painful depth of my Suns-loving broken soul.

Next year, P and I are going to try and be Blazers fans! It's very exciting. I think her man wants to marry me. She's never shown an interest and now I have her willing to both watch and even go to games.


msbelle - Jul 10, 2010 5:45:23 pm PDT #11675 of 30001
I remember the crazy days. 500 posts an hour. Nubmer! Natgbsb

My ebay auctions are a bit of a mess. I've been changing my email addresses everywhere since I am losing earthlink as an internet provider. So I changed my info on paypal, but I did it AFTER these listings were up and I didn't realize it couldn't be updated once a bid is placed. SO buyers are checking out in the ebay/paypal integrated thing before I can send them a note saying to change the email address and paypal payments are sitting there on an account that doesn't so much exist anymore. I've emailed them all and I think found a way to fix things where they do not have to pay me outside of the ebay protected system.


sarameg - Jul 10, 2010 5:52:49 pm PDT #11676 of 30001

Took me forever, but I'm glad I went with a mobile email finally.

Pickles pickled, salami sliced.

It finally got cool enough that I turned off the ac, opened the windows and cranked up the fans. Won't last, but it is lovely air inside right now.


beekaytee - Jul 10, 2010 6:22:57 pm PDT #11677 of 30001
Compassionately intolerant

I've got the windows open as well. Only one fan, currently blowing on us both...very nice.


DavidS - Jul 10, 2010 7:04:22 pm PDT #11678 of 30001
"Look, son, if it's good enough for Shirley Bassey, it's good enough for you."

So Matilda has been in the mood to watch superhero cartoons today.

We watched lots of classic 40s Fleischer animated Superman cartoons this morning. And every time the bad guys blew up a bridge (roughly every episode), Matilda would yelp out, "Oh no! I liked that bridge."

So this evening we're watching Teen Titans and another bridge got blown up.

Matilda: "Oh! I liked that bridge."
JZ: "I didn't know you had such strong opinions about bridges."
Matilda: "I do. Unicorns too."


erikaj - Jul 10, 2010 7:16:23 pm PDT #11679 of 30001
"already on the kiss-cam with Karl Marx"-

Also, he made ESPN give him a cheesy, embarrassing one-hour special to say that he is going there which is viewed by many as a Nail in Journalism's Coffin.(TM) Finished watching Treme...still in love.


§ ita § - Jul 10, 2010 7:26:40 pm PDT #11680 of 30001
Well not canonically, no, but this is transformative fiction.

I am finally watching the Avatar: The Last Airbender cartoon in order, instead of just picking it up when it was aired. Not in order to compare it to the movie, unless I do a buy and duck. And I'm kind of old for those these days.


DavidS - Jul 10, 2010 7:29:50 pm PDT #11681 of 30001
"Look, son, if it's good enough for Shirley Bassey, it's good enough for you."

The first season of Avatar is fun, and it has a great finish. Really epic and sort of like "Prophecy Girl" a promise of directions to come. Second season kicked all kinds of ass. Best character stuff with lots of Azula and her cohort, Toph and plenty of great Zuko and Iroh interaction. Third season also great, but suffers slightly from lack of Iroh. However, it does finish very strong with epic awesomeness and every character getting fist-punching-in-the-air greatness.


brenda m - Jul 10, 2010 8:25:38 pm PDT #11682 of 30001
If you're going through hell/keep on going/don't slow down/keep your fear from showing/you might be gone/'fore the devil even knows you're there

And he went to Florida because there's no income tax. So, as long as he doesn't buy an expensive house and get hit with their property taxes, he should be fine. @@

Well. He took a big ass pay cut to go there, so I doubt the taxes were decisive.

He did hold an hour long, much publicized press conference to announce he was leaving. I can see where Cleveland took that as a poke in the eye.

t still scarred from Brett Favre's endless bullshit


megan walker - Jul 10, 2010 8:28:31 pm PDT #11683 of 30001
"What kind of magical sunshine and lollipop world do you live in? Because you need to be medicated."-SFist

Well. He took a big ass pay cut to go there, so I doubt the taxes were decisive.

My eyeroll was actually for the news outlets who used the move as an excuse to rant about high NY taxes.