So Matilda has been in the mood to watch superhero cartoons today.
We watched lots of classic 40s Fleischer animated Superman cartoons this morning. And every time the bad guys blew up a bridge (roughly every episode), Matilda would yelp out, "Oh no! I liked that bridge."
So this evening we're watching Teen Titans and another bridge got blown up.
Matilda: "Oh! I liked that bridge."
JZ: "I didn't know you had such strong opinions about bridges."
Matilda: "I do. Unicorns too."
Also, he made ESPN give him a cheesy, embarrassing one-hour special to say that he is going there which is viewed by many as a Nail in Journalism's Coffin.(TM)
Finished watching Treme...still in love.
I am finally watching the Avatar: The Last Airbender cartoon in order, instead of just picking it up when it was aired. Not in order to compare it to the movie, unless I do a buy and duck. And I'm kind of old for those these days.
The first season of Avatar is fun, and it has a great finish. Really epic and sort of like "Prophecy Girl" a promise of directions to come. Second season kicked all kinds of ass. Best character stuff with lots of Azula and her cohort, Toph and plenty of great Zuko and Iroh interaction. Third season also great, but suffers slightly from lack of Iroh. However, it does finish very strong with epic awesomeness and every character getting fist-punching-in-the-air greatness.
And he went to Florida because there's no income tax. So, as long as he doesn't buy an expensive house and get hit with their property taxes, he should be fine. @@
Well. He took a big ass pay cut to go there, so I doubt the taxes were decisive.
He did hold an hour long, much publicized press conference to announce he was leaving. I can see where Cleveland took that as a poke in the eye.
t still scarred from Brett Favre's endless bullshit
Well. He took a big ass pay cut to go there, so I doubt the taxes were decisive.
My eyeroll was actually for the news outlets who used the move as an excuse to rant about high NY taxes.
I'm home! It took me 20 hours door to door, almost to the minute, but I made it!
I fall down now, or maybe after a shower.
Just don't fall down in the shower.
It hurts.
And people look at you funny for hurting yourself with gravity.
Again.
I will try to remember that!
Did he say something bad about the team and city he's leaving, or are people just feeling betrayed because he won't be hanging out at their place for barbecues in their fantasy lives?
I don't think people are pissed at LeBron simply because he left Cleveland and the entire city has issues with over-identification. But the way he handled the announcement of his choice of team was a massively douchey clusterfuck. I haven't enjoyed so much day-after shaming of an eye-popping miscalculation since Bobby Jindal's SotU response. It was bad, y'all. That's one reason it's still a topic. Like, here's just *one thing* that happened during the show watched by one in four Cleveland households: [link]
1. So here's LeBron James, sitting in a gymnasium full of children from the Boys and Girls Club, the charity that was to receive the proceeds from the event. Let's note the first thing: LeBron had a full hour to say anything he wanted, and might perhaps have used that time to talk about the Boys and Girls club, which was conceived for the express purpose of helping kids who don't have enough parental guidance -- kids like LeBron, for instance (whose biological father was an ex-con who was never there). LeBron instead chooses to have a show entirely about himself filled with navel-gazing commentators raving over his highlights, followed by Gray and his idiotic questions about whether or not LeBron bites his nails. Then, when Gray finally gets to a question about whether it might be hard to share the spotlight with Dwayne Wade and Chris Bosh, LeBron answers, "It's not about sharing. You know, it's about everybody having they own spotlight." That's his message to the Boys and Girls of America: It's not about sharing! I exploded in laughter when he said this. Even funnier, nobody commented on it. I mean, what's the problem? The kids got the proceeds, didn't they?