Open the kimono makes me hurl. Ew. Sexist AND racist at the same time, whee intersectionality?
Cannot stand this. I lose all kinds of respect for anyone who uses it, and I kind of can't believe this is considered acceptable professional speech.
(And it's not like it's unique concept - you can peel back the onion, you can open the hood. Or you can even just say what you mean.)
I WANT A LILI ANN SUIT.
One day I will be able to afford that silhouette. Both fiscally and physically. My vintage stops just shy of that.
I have finally got my sister engaged in the shopping for my mother's hair stuff, and pretty much all as a result of the links here, so thanks. We're looking to get her a bandeau, two fancy barrettes, and a tiara if I have my way. I would die of glee if she wore a tiara Christmas morning.
And now I have to return half of the socks for my father because he absolutely needs 100% cotton. I was hoping cotton/modal or 2% spandex would be fine, but this seems to be a very precise requirement. Pooh! Those choices aren't as pleasant. I need to find a flippant brawta component to his gift too. Like, secret socks--socks that are goofy on the bits that are under the shoe (but not too goofy) so he can't really say he can't wear them.
And still 100% cotton.
My cubemate is officially too good for me. He doesn't eat his lunch without bringing it by me to have some first, which is a bar I can't really meet. Another co-worker came by with an offer of eggy breakfast burrito and he declined it because of me. I don't even
remember
telling him about that. And last time someone called me African American he corrected them, not to black, but to Jamaican.
I see why he has all the work wives.
I did not know that kimono saying was a thing until it was mentioned here, and I'm grateful for that. It's remarkably distasteful. I'm not sure where I'd complain about that (or if I'd person up and do it), but it is way appropriate.
I did not know that kimono saying was a thing until it was mentioned here, and I'm grateful for that.
Yup. Humanity, failing in new ways every day. Or old ways.
Thanks, JZ, but I'm really not a vintage-dressing person most of the time. My ability to costume up ends at a contemporary suit and heels, pretty much. But thanks for thinking of me!
Open the kimono makes me hurl. Ew. Sexist AND racist at the same time, whee intersectionality?
Yes and yes and yes. Absolutely loathe that phrase, and everyone I've ever heard use it.
I should clarify that I'm at an industry event, not an internal event. Still, I need to find a way to tell people that language is not okay.
I've only ever heard it here, as well.
Still, I need to find a way to tell people that language is not okay.
Indeed. There should be contact information for conference organizers somewhere in the material, I should think. Good luck!
I've probably only heard it in the wild three or four times. I'm glad some of you haven't.