I did not know that kimono saying was a thing until it was mentioned here, and I'm grateful for that. It's remarkably distasteful. I'm not sure where I'd complain about that (or if I'd person up and do it), but it is way appropriate.
Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
I did not know that kimono saying was a thing until it was mentioned here, and I'm grateful for that.
Yup. Humanity, failing in new ways every day. Or old ways.
Thanks, JZ, but I'm really not a vintage-dressing person most of the time. My ability to costume up ends at a contemporary suit and heels, pretty much. But thanks for thinking of me!
Open the kimono makes me hurl. Ew. Sexist AND racist at the same time, whee intersectionality?
Yes and yes and yes. Absolutely loathe that phrase, and everyone I've ever heard use it.
I should clarify that I'm at an industry event, not an internal event. Still, I need to find a way to tell people that language is not okay.
I've only ever heard it here, as well.
Still, I need to find a way to tell people that language is not okay.
Indeed. There should be contact information for conference organizers somewhere in the material, I should think. Good luck!
I've probably only heard it in the wild three or four times. I'm glad some of you haven't.
Basically I don't want to start a shitstorm on Twitter with my personal account, but I also don't want to let it go.
Yeah, honestly, given how badly such shitstorms tend to go, I'd be reluctant - better to drop a word to the organizers directly.