one of my tasks as an intern was making real paper copies of the faxes.
Ah ha ha! Man, there are many people in the workforce who have no idea about thermal paper.
I am not 100% sure, but I think Ryan retains a suspicion that my discussions of dinosaurs are based on first-hand knowledge.
But he's just little! For Ryan, "Hey Soul Sister" came out a lifetime ago!
I got halfway to the car before realizing I was still wearing slippers. Pretty sure that's not conforming to dress code. MOAR COFFEE PLZ
But he's just little!
And yet, today we attended his third orientation session in preparation of his attending school from January.
Lately he's been proudly displaying his understanding of the words 'opaque' and 'transparent'. And trying to throw a photo of himself, completely backed by a fridge magnet, onto my computer. SON I AM DISAPPOINT.
Oh good lord. The "pre-diabetes" argument I was having last night on FB? Was because a friend went to the doctor for the first time in a decade, got a panel of blood tests, and his glucose is 102 (for reference, 100 is the upper limit of normal). If he wasn't fasting, that is totally normal!
But now his friends and mom are posting things like -- I do not exaggerate -- "Having diabetes means now you need to eat vegetables" (because he's 5 and doesn't know that veggies are healthy) and "Your stepdad had diabetes but he managed it with insulin and so can you!"
And then a friend posted a macro of a dude who lost 100 pounds by giving up wheat and in doing so became non-diabetic. (1) Friend is 100% normal weight (although he says he has an extra 5 pounds around his waistband -- but, you know, NOT 100 POUNDS), and (2) Friend does NOT HAVE DIABETES OH MY GOD.
I caved and sent him a PM and said "Hey, I am not a doctor, but I am a medical editor and...your test results are fine. If you want reassurance, re-do them when you're fasting. But having a glucose of 102 makes you "diabetic" in the sense that an extra 3 pounds makes you "obese." So, eat more veggies because yum, but...insulin will kill you for reals. I love your mom, but...no."
He replied "That's the last time I post medical test results on Facebook."
Come on, man. Isn't that, like, Rule #3 of Facebook? (#1 being NO NAKED PIX and #2 being CHECK SNOPES GOD DAMN IT.)
Health care providers should not have "share these results" buttons.
I would like to announce that I have been diagnosed with pre-starvation, and will therefore go make myself some oatmeal.
OMG, Joan's second outfit on Elementary is blowing my mind. I seriously thought I was in a wardrobe lull, but I crave them (or their approximations) both very badly. I remember having found, I think, a Scandal and a Revenge shopping blog--anyone know if Elementary has one?
I need to dress cute to work today. And I dressed cute Monday.
Oh, thank god her second coat leaves me untouched.
Yeah, I have a severe mac and cheese deficiency, which I'm about to go remedy.
Yeah, I have a severe mac and cheese deficiency,
Man, chronic conditions are the worst. Can you get mac & cheese insurance?
I have pre-caffeine deficiency. The medical establishment has not told me what to do!!!