Oh good lord. The "pre-diabetes" argument I was having last night on FB? Was because a friend went to the doctor for the first time in a decade, got a panel of blood tests, and his glucose is 102 (for reference, 100 is the upper limit of normal). If he wasn't fasting, that is totally normal!
But now his friends and mom are posting things like -- I do not exaggerate -- "Having diabetes means now you need to eat vegetables" (because he's 5 and doesn't know that veggies are healthy) and "Your stepdad had diabetes but he managed it with insulin and so can you!"
And then a friend posted a macro of a dude who lost 100 pounds by giving up wheat and in doing so became non-diabetic. (1) Friend is 100% normal weight (although he says he has an extra 5 pounds around his waistband -- but, you know, NOT 100 POUNDS), and (2) Friend does NOT HAVE DIABETES OH MY GOD.
I caved and sent him a PM and said "Hey, I am not a doctor, but I am a medical editor and...your test results are fine. If you want reassurance, re-do them when you're fasting. But having a glucose of 102 makes you "diabetic" in the sense that an extra 3 pounds makes you "obese." So, eat more veggies because yum, but...insulin will kill you for reals. I love your mom, but...no."
He replied "That's the last time I post medical test results on Facebook."
Come on, man. Isn't that, like, Rule #3 of Facebook? (#1 being NO NAKED PIX and #2 being CHECK SNOPES GOD DAMN IT.)