I think I'm going home today! The plan is not to give my Aunt enough time to argue against it, since they have to be out of the house by 9 AM to take The Elderly Cat to the vet.
Yesterday I did lots of Dutiful Niece duty, which really wasn't unpleasant, since I took my aunt out shopping and let her wander at will through several stores, including a really nice crafts store. Since my uncle is the kind who treats a grocery store run like a military operation with so many seconds allotted to each aisle, our relaxed pace was much more what she needed.
I ended up with a large white cockatoo named Sid on my arm, and realized that I have No Clue as to what his body language meant. Crest down, making very small vocalizations, and body leaning towards me? Either he's pleased or he's preparing to go for my eyes.
I still have my eyes, so I probably guessed right, especially because the store lets him out of the cage and interact with the customers, but still.
I would guess a cockatoo would put ona aggressive display before going for your eyes. Good luck getting home from your niecely duties, Theo.
Timelies all!
Have the day off. Need to make a grocery run and wash jeans. Yay my exciting life.
I also have the day off, which is good, because I seem to be a little hungover after last night's Dinner and Downton. (Which is just me and my friend Lauren, but hey. Pork Tenderloin with cider and figs way more fancy than I normally cook.)I blame how long it took to ahem the ep.
Darn. One of my favorite and most competent (hence, favorite) coworkers just told me she's leaving for another job.
Half my office (including my entire command chain, all the way up to the CEO) is out of the office today. Time for a coup?
In other news, here's the neatest thing I've read today. Glow in the dark Civil War soldiers: [link] (Warning: discussion of war wounds and infection.)
Ooh, I just looked at the clock at the most magical of times: 11:11 on 11/11.
Relatedly, my friend who lives in France was telling me about being surprised that her friend who lives in Italy doesn't have a holiday today -- right, because they were Not On Our Side at that point.
Does that make me part of the Axis?
Italy did fight for the allies during WWI. (Not very well). [link]
Then never mind! It's inexplicable.
brenda, I meant there's no national holiday on 11/11 -- I mean, I'm at work, but I won't be getting mail.
The Holiday with no day off. BAH!
I am being fairly productive today though. My strategy is to pick up something on my desk and do whatever is needed to get it off my desk. So received on invoices, scanned to A/P and filed. Filled out return forms for returns, copied and filed. I am quickly getting to the pile of things that are not so clear what to do with. Still, if I get that pile down at all - I PROCLAIM VICTORY!!