Ooh, I just looked at the clock at the most magical of times: 11:11 on 11/11.
Relatedly, my friend who lives in France was telling me about being surprised that her friend who lives in Italy doesn't have a holiday today -- right, because they were Not On Our Side at that point.
Does that make me part of the Axis?
Italy did fight for the allies during WWI. (Not very well). [link]
Then never mind! It's inexplicable.
brenda, I meant there's no national holiday on 11/11 -- I mean, I'm at work, but I won't be getting mail.
The Holiday with no day off. BAH!
I am being fairly productive today though. My strategy is to pick up something on my desk and do whatever is needed to get it off my desk. So received on invoices, scanned to A/P and filed. Filled out return forms for returns, copied and filed. I am quickly getting to the pile of things that are not so clear what to do with. Still, if I get that pile down at all - I PROCLAIM VICTORY!!
I've had the bottle of Brasso setting on my counter for, literally, months, slowly accumulating stuff that needed Brasso-ing. So yesterday I reclaimed an old, grody brass dragon stand for my gazing ball. Once clean, but left with sufficient patina, I discovered it's bent. But it does do the job, so I'll survey the assemblage with my head at a slight tilt--see there? Fixed. Also two pairs of fiddly earrings with dangly bits and beads, and a pewter ogham pendant.
I did not, however, assay the forest of brass candlesticks. Nor will I, until I have display space for them.
The Holiday with no day off.
But at least it didn't take me 45 minutes to drive less than 8 miles this morning!
Not On Our Side
Says one of the "late to show to the next war" people...
There's a co-worker who's a real
talker
here (well, there are always, and there are often many, right?). But he talks about his life and his kid, and what part he wants me to play in her life (???) etc...on repeat. I'm listening to the other half of his convo with my cubemate (chatty Kevin works remote a lot), and that convo is about crazy exes and what legal steps you can take to protect yourself, so whew! I will gladly take the upcoming mentor position with regards to his daughter's education and hairstyle compared to what we could be talking about.
I've been walking around with a tampon in my bra all day. I've never done this before, but I mistakenly thought my pants had pockets and they don't, so. It's a lot more comfortable than I was expecting. (For the documentarians out there: ob tampon, underwire bra, tampon tucked at the outer edge by mu armpit.)
The documentarians might also want to know if it's unused or not.
For posterity.
I think the woman who lives above me should pay for (or do herself) the cleaning of my bathroom rugs when her toilet overflows into my bathroom. I will grumpily wipe down surfaces, but EW. And why does she overflow so much? Mine does get blocked, but stop flushing! It takes two flushes to overflow.