Um, I have just discovered I got sunburnt today from the 2 hours leaves-ing. In places, through my shirt. Huh.
Jayne ,'Jaynestown'
Natter 72: We Were Unprepared for This
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
I hate this kind of traveling. We hit fog in Amarillo, where we'd decided we didn't need to stop, and drove in minimal visibility, stopping at a rest stop (and not a gas station where there's, you know, food)to change drivers, all the way to glorious Elk City, OK. Where we arrived just after ten on a Sunday and therefore everything is closed. Which is fine, because I had packed a bag with grapes and salsa and cheesebread. Except that the ice pack leaked gel all over the cooler bag and therefore I had to toss the grapes and salsa. I salvaged the cheesebread, thank goodness.
But the SO just had to make an emergency gas station run for beef jerky and nuts and Sprite, because I am not going to survive on cheesebread alone.
Oh, well, we're here safely. Only seven hours of driving tomorrow.
I have helped to fold all the clothes! While watching the Avengers (yes. first time I'm watching it. I'm embracing my shut in life and resubscribing to netflix). Now I have to put all the clothes.
Liese, may tomorrow be better.
Only reason I saw Avengers, Ironman, Sherlock and all the rest (all of them, whatever was out) was I was stuck in the middle seat on a flight from Sydney to Dallas. Films seen since then? After Midnight, playing at the local film society theater when visiting my parents this summer, they usually see one a week.
I probably won't see another movie until family takes me or I'm on a plane for a looooong time.
Aw, Liese, that's a tough break.
This load of laundry is never going to get dry, and there's another one waiting to go in the dryer. My angst is so banal.
Seven hours is a nice short day, liese.
I think I'm going home today! The plan is not to give my Aunt enough time to argue against it, since they have to be out of the house by 9 AM to take The Elderly Cat to the vet.
Yesterday I did lots of Dutiful Niece duty, which really wasn't unpleasant, since I took my aunt out shopping and let her wander at will through several stores, including a really nice crafts store. Since my uncle is the kind who treats a grocery store run like a military operation with so many seconds allotted to each aisle, our relaxed pace was much more what she needed.
I ended up with a large white cockatoo named Sid on my arm, and realized that I have No Clue as to what his body language meant. Crest down, making very small vocalizations, and body leaning towards me? Either he's pleased or he's preparing to go for my eyes.
I still have my eyes, so I probably guessed right, especially because the store lets him out of the cage and interact with the customers, but still.
I would guess a cockatoo would put ona aggressive display before going for your eyes. Good luck getting home from your niecely duties, Theo.
Timelies all!
Have the day off. Need to make a grocery run and wash jeans. Yay my exciting life.
I also have the day off, which is good, because I seem to be a little hungover after last night's Dinner and Downton. (Which is just me and my friend Lauren, but hey. Pork Tenderloin with cider and figs way more fancy than I normally cook.)I blame how long it took to ahem the ep.