Gah, you guys, I am so upset. Ridiculously, can't-stop-crying upset.
The dry cleaner ruined my wedding dress. I picked it up today and it is totally BLACK. What the fucking hell? I asked the dry cleaner lady what happened, and she said she doesn't know (of course). She checked the tag -- as if I didn't before I brought it in -- and verified that it said "Dry clean only", and said, "The tag says dry clean only, and we cleaned it. You need to talk to the manufacturer about it."
Well, no. If I brought in a dress that said "do NOT dry clean" and it got ruined, that's not the dry cleaner's fault. But if they ruined something that they were supposed to be able to clean, well, that's their fault.
But the website doesn't sell this dress anymore, so I can't replace it. And, really, I don't know if I would, even if I could.
What I want is for it not to have happened, or to be fixable. But neither of those things are true. So I guess I have a black dress now. And I'm just really, really upset. Which makes me feel stupid. Because it's just a dress. I mean, yeah, it's my wedding dress, but it's still just a dress. No one died. I wasn't really going to be able to wear it again (even though it's not a white poofy wedding gown, it's still my wedding dress, and anywhere I wore it, people would ask "Is that your wedding dress?" and then I would feel stupid). But that still doesn't mean I wanted it to be ruined.
God damn it.
If anyone is going to suggest I go after the dry cleaner for restitution, I don't have it in me to do it. Mostly because they're insisting it isn't their fault and I don't feel like lawyering up for a dress.
Damn it. It was so pretty.
Oh, Teppy... I am so sorry. That blows. I'm getting teary-eyed on your behalf.
That sucks, Teppy. I'd be tempted to at least post before-and-after pictures on review sites.
Oh Steph, that's a huge bummer, you have every right to be upset. The dry cleaner screwed up.
That's awful, Steph. I'm sorry.
It's not just a dress, it's your dress. I'm so sorry, honey.
If anyone is going to suggest I go after the dry cleaner for restitution, I don't have it in me to do it. Mostly because they're insisting it isn't their fault and I don't feel like lawyering up for a dress.
Can you get Tim to push on them? Or talk to a different dry cleaner to see if they have information on what may have happened that you can take back to the original one? Also, maybe you can find someone who can call the site where you got it for you and tell them the situation?
And, of course, they suck and I'm so sorry.
Aww, Teppy, that's rotten! I'd cry too!
Teppy, I'm so sorry, that's a dreadful thing to have happen, and of course you're not blowing it out of proportion--it's important. No, really, it is. You're totally justified in your feelings.
I understand not having the will and energy to sue the cleaners. But I'm going to back Plei on the idea of contacting the place where you got the dress, or having someone do it for you. They should be glad to hear about potential problems for that fabric. And there's at least a 50/50 chance they could replace it for you, if you decide that's what you want.
And if not, then I understand that too. I've had beloved things ruined and repaired that I was never able to summon the same deep affection for afterward.
I'm so very sorry this happened.