I always felt a little guilty for watching SaTC at all. It felt like gay-boys playing paper dolls instead of actual characters. But it was CRACK.
Ahhahhahahaha! So true on both counts!
Oh Cash, I'm sorry you got hurt and didn't win, but I'm so glad you're enjoying yourself.
I have finished grading two of my four classes. Since grades are due Tuesday morning and my last two classes are bigger than the first two, tomorrow is going to be busy. Good thing I can work from home, at least.
Coffee: I will say this about SatC; it was the first show I ever saw on tv that frankly acknowledged that women had sexual desires and kinks and hangups, and I will always love it for that.
Thanks, Pix. We didn't really expect to win. We were bouting a more experienced team and they had a jammer that seemingly phased through our walls at will.
We just didn't expect quite the beating we got.
Would someone tell me to stop watching Man vs. Food? It just makes me hungry. And then sick.
Frodo and Bilbo are the bachelor scholars and priests Tolkien grew up around. And the female characters are his mother and wife.
That sounds pretty spot-on.
I've never seen SatC, but then that's true for a lot of TV shows. Aside from Mythbusters and sporting events, TV has pretty much lost my interest.
We had about 300 fans at the bout and they were standing and cheering us until the bitter end.
That's awesome!
My complaints for the day are that the music from the gym downstairs is too loud! Usually we can't hear them at all up here but, today, thumpa thumpa thumpa argh!
And my new glasses don't really work. I went back to talk to them on Saturday about them and, turns out, I really do actually need progressive lenses. So, I sucked it up and ordered them but am wearing the new, non-progressives in the meantime and they are making my head hurt. Wah!
Re: my SIL, though I realize a lot of nattering has happened since I posted last night, she won't get any retirement from her company. She'll have access to my brother's pension in 2 1/2 years. It really sucks to be 57 and to have to look for a job for the first time...ever, really. She worked her way up in this company (a small printing company) to the point where she was essentially running it, so she has skills, she knows how to run a business, but she doesn't have a college degree, and finding a job in the current climate at 57 is going to be hard. She needs health insurance, she has two mortgages, etc. She's trying to sell the condo in NH (where my brother would go mountain climbing) but it's not selling.
The upside is that she has her whole family around her on Long Island, so she's not alone. She has some insurance money from my brother, but she doesn't want to touch that if she doesn't have to, yet.
Wow, amyth, that is so incredibly shitty for her.
Holy crap, amyth. I wish her loads of -ma.
Gah for her. (Tell me she doesn't vote Republican currently, please. Although if she did, I would still be sympathetic, I swear.)