There is nobody here at the office today. My cubicle neighbor just left to work from home for the rest of the day, the twins on two other sides of my cubicle walls were both off, the manager who sits kitty-corner from me took today off, and there's only three other people in the three rows of cubicles in my area.
Natter 66: Get Your Kicks.
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, pandas, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
(And if you value your blood pressure, DO NOT READ THE COMMENTS.)
If I may sum up? "Don't have kids if you can't afford them because I'm not paying for them sorry you lost your job but you should have planned ahead and not everyone who gets school lunch is because of some tragedy, some are having kids to milk the system I know because I saw a poor person getting their hair done."
And yeah, I (semi) chose not to have kids, but I am thankful for people who have. Hey, if my tax dollars go to support the awesome buffistae sprog with lunches, education, whatever, I'm kinda proud of that.
I have lunch indecision.
I'd say skip the school cafeteria.
I never even think to read the comments anymore.
I can't help it! I just keep scrolling and then suddenly I've read an entire flamewar without knowing how I got there! I think I need Comments Threads Anonymous.
(And if you value your blood pressure, DO NOT READ THE COMMENTS.)
I really regret reading the comments. My blood pressure is already elevated from ignorance today.
I really liked that he distinctly correlated the lack of available food choices to poverty. I imagine that many children in food deserts, obese or not, are malnourished.
Seriously, Sophia? Your co-worker is in no way either smart or kind. You should stop giving her the benefit of the doubt and start ignoring her except if she needs something work related. She sounds like an idiot.
TC's TC on feeding kids.
Seriously! He makes so much sense.
I am still in jury duty. I had a glass of wine at lunch and felt kind of self-conscious because of how I'm wearing a Juror badge but then decided fuck it. I've had a hard week.
Oh- and then my boss is all mad because she feels like unemployment benefits incentivize people to stay unemployed. This is because her brother-in-law apparently makes more money on unemployment than he does working (not sure if that is possible) and is excited about being unemployed because he and his wife can go out more.
I have lunch indecision.
I had fried rice. It was yummy. Do with that information what you will.
Lunch. That sounds like a nifty idea. OMG how I hate my stomach. Miss a few meals (or days of meals) and it shrinks up and sulks.
I did have a tea latte, so at least excess calories there. But the chocolate muffin is just sitting there, unappealling. CHOCOLATE MUFFIN.
I imagine that many children in food deserts, obese or not, are malnourished.
There's a healthy bodega initiative in NYC that's trying to bring more fresh food into places like Spanish Harlem. The result? If fresh food is available, people will buy it! SHOCKING!!!