Teppy said it perfectly, Tom, so I'll just point and exclaim, "What Tep Said!"
Yep.
(Hmm. I'm looking at Passover groceries online. There's passover pancake mix. Why? Are there seriously people who can't go a week without pancakes, and must make weird dry chewy Passover pancakes just to get through?)
Tom, I add my voice to the chorus. It's your birthday, you celebrate it your way.
And in other news, silly, silly UCI.
I'm sorry Drew. May a sweeter opportunity erase the memory of this disappointment.
My Mom just called me to tell me that I'm being inconsiderate for not spending my birthday with my family.
@@ I left my DH and kids for my 50th. If you can't do your own thing at 40 when the hell can you? Also, it is going to be a great birthday present to all the Buffistas to enjoy your grand tour pictures!
Just got home from baseball. 10-10 after the long game. We were down 3-8 at one point. It was 8-10 when the umpire threw out 2 of our coaches (unjustified really) and that put a fire under our boys.
Hil, please post more about your trip! I skipped through the thread a bit and may have missed parts, but what I read sounded wonderful.
So far, I've posted just two long-ish posts (the inappropriate bears and the first few days there with the tree planting). I'll get some more typed up soon.
Are there seriously people who can't go a week without pancakes, and must make weird dry chewy Passover pancakes just to get through?
I'm thinking there are people who will buy anything marked "Kosher for Passover" whether they will use it or not. But I am gratedul, for that is no doubt the impetus that has brought me corn-free marshmallows. And they are like sugary bites of heaven, so if chewy pancakes are the price that must be paid, so be it.
I always get all excited at kosher marshmallows, thinking that they'll be vegetarian, but then I check the ingrediants and every brand I've checked so far is made with fish gelatin. (There was one that even had little pictures of fish on the bag.)
I have accomplished more! I cleaned out one shelf and made it my shelf for Passover stuff. So far I've got one box matzo, one can regular matzo meal, one box whole wheat matzo meal, two boxes red ko-jel, and one box unflavored ko-jel. (Anyone have any idea why I bought unflavored ko-jel? I don't. But it was in my cabinet somehow.)
I always get all excited at kosher marshmallows, thinking that they'll be vegetarian, but then I check the ingrediants and every brand I've checked so far is made with fish gelatin. (There was one that even had little pictures of fish on the bag.)
Weird. You know, you can make marshmallows pretty easily. I know this because I did it on accident once.
I've never found a vegan marshmallow. It makes me so so sad, because, damn, I'd like a s'more now and then.
There may not be vegan marshmallows, but there are now sugar-free peeps, which I find so very, very wrong--even though it means my dad can now have peeps.
When you take the sugar out of a peep, what's left? The package it's sold in?