I always get all excited at kosher marshmallows, thinking that they'll be vegetarian, but then I check the ingrediants and every brand I've checked so far is made with fish gelatin. (There was one that even had little pictures of fish on the bag.)
Weird. You know, you can make marshmallows pretty easily. I know this because I did it on accident once.
I've never found a vegan marshmallow. It makes me so so sad, because, damn, I'd like a s'more now and then.
There may not be vegan marshmallows, but there are now sugar-free peeps, which I find so very, very wrong--even though it means my dad can now have peeps.
When you take the sugar out of a peep, what's left? The package it's sold in?
I don't know. It was still pretty puffy. We bought a package, which caused much interesting discussion at the counter.
I'll have to look for the sugar free peeps for Bobby this year. I need to know how well they microwave.
Jen: Ricemellow creme fluff. Vegan, marshmallowy.
Vegan marshmallows: [link]
I tried making marshmallows once and found it rather difficult. But I am not wise in the ways of candy making.
Sugar-free peeps? i don't know how to react to that.
Eta: that RiceMellow stuff is pretty good. I don't know what real Marshmallow Creme is like to compare, though.
I need to know how well they microwave.
Hee! That's exactly what I was thinking. Well, that, how well they'd catch on fire, and if Clovis' attempts at magically animating Peeps for his army would be any more sucessful with the sugar-free versions.