Thank you for the spoiler warnings!
Premium Cable: The Cursing Costs Extra
[NAFDA] A thread for the discussion of all original programming on HBO, Showtime, Starz and other premium channels.
This is NOT a general TV discussion thread.
The Pitt 2.7, no rats but the sexual assault victim is not an easy storyline. I mean, none of them are with this show, but, yeah.
The Pitt: no rats this week. I am really liking the cyberattack stuff as a plot complication and that Mel’s deposition is related to the measles last season
Yes! Someone pointed out that this season is all about things that DONT happen in a day, and having some follow-up and fallout from last time is a good manifestation of that.
Oh, like longer timescale things? Yeah, that’s good
That trailer was very confusing. They only have one ring between them? Also, I'm confused by Hal saying he's the only human Lantern considering Guy exists in-universe and based on Superman been at it for awhile.
I currently have a DC Unlimited subscription, and Tom King's run on Wonder Woman is an intense hate-read for me. I'm already seeing some Tom Kingisms in this trailer; I hope the rest of the writing staff will sand down his worst aspects.
Tom King's run on Wonder Woman is an intense hate-read for me
What do you hate about it? That piques my curiosity.
So, a while back, a TV writer I like, Javier Grillo-Marxuach, was doing a Q&A, and I asked him what writing lessons you could take away from Andor. His answer was something along the lines of, “The writers on Andor are very good at making archetypes personal, and the personal archetypal”.
And that made me realize what was bothering me about King. His characters are nothing but archetypes. So not only does he SHOW them doing archetypal things, his characters are mostly SAYING things like “I must do this archetypal thing because I am an archetype, that’s who I am.” His Wonder Woman is so much an archetype that she doesn’t seem to be a person with agency.