I'm ready to call it a day and hit the pub. So many things are going wrong right now we're going to miss all our targets anyway, so why not just give in?
Buffy ,'The Killer In Me'
Natter 73: Chuck Norris only wishes he could Natter
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, duct tape, butt kicking, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
I swear to god the thing I was working on yesterday was 10% better when I finished it at 7pm than when I sent out a draft at 9am. NOT WORTH IT.
That's not even the most annoying thing today!
I FEEL YOU, JESS.
I'm ready to call it a day and hit the pub. So many things are going wrong right now we're going to miss all our targets anyway, so why not just give in?
I am so there with you.
I've had to cold call people and ask nosy work questions over the last couple of weeks, and it's sucking the life right out of me. I have a handful more to do this afternoon, and I'm in total avoidance mode.
I was up until 12:30 last night with work, so I took a goddamn sick day today and feel no guilt about it. Especially since I was sick this week (though mostly recovered today).
Ooh, I almost ragequit this morning! Because apparently although we're a 5-star Library Journal library in a major city, it would be fine to stop subscribing to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
I mean, I am all for modernity, but, standards, people!
That is the correct call, Dana.
I've been thinking about how I'm just going to have to work a regular day on Tuesday, when we're closed, but the good news is, most of the work I've been doing this week is in service of a meeting that is Tuesday morning! So maybe I can just come in for part of the day.
Wait, you're closed but you have to work anyway? That bites.
I'm on a conference call for work about our jobs and it is....depressing. They're basically trying to outsource us to Bulgaria and Mexico. I mean, over the next few years. But still. They're desperately trying to spin it as a good thing ("no, your job will be EASIER!"), but everyone is pretty skeptical.
I guess technically jobs are easier once you no longer have to do them...
I don't understand how that would work for your job. Unless Bulgarians get special discount airfares.