I had a talk with boss lady where I apologized for being a bossy desk jockey. She deflected and said everything is okay. That I shouldn't beat myself up over percieved slights. I said I felt that due to circumstances that I wasn't fully a part of the department, and she said that was nonsense.
So everything is fine, apparently.
I'm relieved that she isn't officially pissed at my behaviour. But it still feels like a whole pacl of lies.
I'm still rolling my eyes whenever she mentions something England or Longwood related. And I know it's rude. I've started recounting tales from when I was in the Army just to counteract the annoyance, and to provide a bit of "fuck you" to the conversation. Oh, you had to plant a thousand bulbs? I had to do pushups in a hill of fire-ants.
There's still a couple of issues that I haven't addressed, but I [chickened out] decided on baby steps.
Like, how do I say that I'm pretty freaking offended by recieving marching orders from the intern, beyond being blunt about it. I even witnessed her being bossy to the facilities manager, and that was so not on in my eyes, but schooling her when the DoH is there doesn't seem right.
I was actually kind of hoping the position wasn't in the budget until January -- that would have been a lot easier for me! I move in two weeks, start the new job two weeks after that. Two weeks after that is Christmas, when I'll have a week off.
Can you negotiate a later start date?
I possibly could have, but she was like, "AS SOON AS POSSIBLE!!!!" And I didn't say I needed to think about it, just said yes. Although I see the letter doesn't have a start date, so maybe I'll see about starting later. But on the other hand, I'd rather have the time around my move, which is before that. In short, I think I can wait until Christmas for the time off!
I'm watching the Global Frequency pilot (good times!) and there's this
really
urgent line: "There's a camera in the PHONE." that makes me realise--it wasn't all that long ago, but that was forever.
Welcome to the Global Frequency.
Okay, I'm arguing on FB with someone whether "pre-diabetes" is a disease state. (Hint: IT'S NOT. It's a set of numbers and diagnostic criteria that lead to, frankly, a guess that someone has a 50-50 chance of developing diabetes. That's not a disease state.)
Dude is all paleo and crossfit and 2% bodyfat, so my very fat self has no credibility with him. EVEN THOUGH I'M A MEDICAL EDITOR.
I'm also hopped up on migraine meds so it's possible I'm just itching for a fight.
You're right, Steph. Which you knew, I know, but still worth saying.
Jesse, you're going to need the time off by then! But hopefully you can also enjoy it.
could there be some parallel drawn with a non-state of "pre-pregnancy"?
Then the ever popular pre-cold! Reason to buy more drugs! Because god forbid you may have just sneezed at a random irritant.