I hate when I have a Super Big Thing because it seems overwhelming and then I get avoidy. Hell. I am avoidy when I have things like make a phone call.
We got an Elantra GT hatchback, which is similar in size to K's car but sportier. It's cute enough. Our Saturn had a horrible issue that caused the catlytic converter to break. I have been driving it with the check engine light on since July just waiting for the part to be made (!!) so we could replace it. But then the manifold cracked (and we weren't sure if we could find one since Saturn went out of business). AND the front passenger tire was about to split so I knew the jig was up. (Is that the right idiom?) I just wanted to get a new super cheap tire and then keep it until March then replace it then, but K gets queasy about me and the kids in a car held together by hope and held breath.
Yeah, I tend to drive the same car until it gives up, partially because getting a new one is a bit daunting, but you do have to take safety into consideration. The new car is cute!
I'm with K on this one. I'm glad you're in a solid car.
I am avoidy a lot, although I'm working on it, and am getting better. But this one's got So Much riding on it that I am probably going to fuck up just by not doing it.
Ok, fuck it, I'm doing it. Shit, it's not even that hard.
Go, Liese, and do! And then it will be done and not hanging over you any more.
I expected to have to work this weekend, but that got cancelled, so I gave in to an impulse and drove down to the Ozarks to see what was left of the Fall colors. I'm spending the night in my old home town, and tomorrow's plan is to go south through the Ouachitas, west on the Talimena Drive, then north through eastern Oklahoma, stopping at my very favorite BBQ place for takeout before heading home.
Liese, I work only three blocks from the downtown convention hall. Wednesday lunch is a great idea.
Great, dcp. I will figure out what our actual schedule is and we'll coordinate. Do you still have my digits? And do yours still end in 63?
Anyway, meep, I did it. Super scary. But done.
The number I have for you ends in 21. Mine does end in 63, and hasn't changed. It's in my profile if anyone wants it.
Cute car, Kat!
I am avoidy by nature, but right now my only goal is bed.
Yay Liese! Not avoidy is better. And I say that as the queen of avoidy.