Well bless. I guess I'm more lactose intolerant than I realized. For some reason I had a craving for cereal this afternoon, so I snitched some of CJ's and poured on the milk (2%). My tummy has not been happy since.
I am ok with cheese and yogurt, but I will rarely go for a bowl of ice cream or a glass of milk. Weird.
Cheese and yogurt have cultures that make them much easier to digest if you are lactose intolerant than straight milk or something like ice cream.
OMG and holy shit, I just saw an ad for AshleyMadison.com with a take-off on the Interjection song from Schoolhouse Rock. I am scarred.
It makes me really sad to think, by that logic, that only people who are lucky enough to have children are allowed to be around them.
That's obviously a huge overstatement of the issue at hand.
It is. But it's hard not to feel that way. (I'm not claiming to be logical about this. It just makes me sad that we've moved so far from the "it takes a village" concept.)
ETA: Java mostly said what I was feeling:
I think that someone who's acting creepy and hanging around a playground eyeing the kids should be dealt with on a case by case basis and that these flat, unilateral ways of dealing with an issue just cause more problems.
Yeah, strangers can be creepy but study after study shows that kids are far more likely to be molested or harmed by someone either in their own family or close to the family. So I sort of feel like WTF about ticketing people eating donuts on a park bench.
Thanks, sj. That makes sense.
They should make a law making it illegal for kids to be around me. It would just save time. I could make dispensations, but normally, ILLEGAL. I could give out badges to allowed kids. FBi. Federal Bureau of ita.
Man, today was much stuff. Got lots of phone stuff done, important stuff, requirements gathered and documented and conveyed, so that's good. I'd probably still be working, but they took my laptop for upgrade to W7.
My boss has been correcting my pronunciation of a name, so I went to her because I just couldn't get it right, and I thought if I heard it from her lips it would sink it--but she says it like I'd been saying it. He's wrong. What do I do? She says to leave it be, but I don't want to. I will be awkward, trying to mispronounce right. But he's made such a big thing over how he's right and I'm wrong, and now! Oops.
Someone else on a call pronounced my name exactly right. Said she'd "been told". Apparently her boss had conveyed the crisp "t" to her during the meeting preparations. Hee.
Why is Skeet Ulrich
in last night's episode of
L&O:LA? Didn't
he die?
TiVo says it's new.
But it's hard not to feel that way
Does it help to consider the other half a million places where it's perfectly normal for you to stare at strangers' children? It's only one thing.
Fwiw, I wasn't trying to be provocative. It was honestly just my immediate emotional response to hearing about the incident.