Flea- I actually know that person who is the boss for that job. I could probably do it, although I am missing the Masters in IT, the SQL, and all but the most basic of HTML. Interesting.
Natter 66: Get Your Kicks.
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, pandas, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
And, to add, most of the paraprofessionals are hourly, and a pay grade below me, so I don't know if I would be hired. Weirdly, that is the first one I have seen that is the same grade as I am.
Leaving the office. Oy.
When I said I was making a break for it before, I forgot the meeting I had scheduled for right then. So no break for another hour. But I did get my protein smoothie, and I've even drunk some of it.
At least I'll have a break until the 8:30 con-call.
Poor developers. One's been here 12 hours already, and the other one will be working from home when he gets there.
I feel like a heel for leaving, but I've done all I can do for the next few hours.
you're REQUIRED to keep a log of job-searching activities while on unemployment, and these days they're reviewing those a lot more carefully
In NYC you have to show up at "career counseling" every couple of months, but other than that you just tick a box online that says "Yes I looked for work this week."
For laundry, I'd go with the baking soda and a TINY bit of dish soap, especially if you have a front-loader. Dish soap suds much more than laundry soap and will overload your machine if you use as much of it as you normally would laundry detergent.
(Is this where I plug soap nuts again? Because they're really quite awesome little things.)
It's a top-loader, and I used the baking soda plus a little shampoo. Hoping for the best! The clothes weren't really that dirty, I figure, so even just the water+agitation would probably have been OK.
ION, I'm watching last season's Eureka finale, and did I even watch this show? I don't remember any of this.
In HR it's very common to move up from admin to manager. Typically you get a bright young thing right out of college, let them do the admin stuff. If they're ambitious and good at it they'll be allowed to do more HR or recruiting or Benefits work. Then they move up when the opportunity arises or take a lateral position that's designed to move up (more responsibilities than a straight admin, say an HR Coordinator, or Analyst, or Benefits Analyst etc.)
However, there is some work sexism involved with this since HR is hugely dominated by women. I went to some HR conferences where it was probably 95% women. It was considered extremely unusual in my last firm that my boss hired two men as assistants.
But all the women managers I've known in legal HR started as secretaries and admins.
Jesse, I had some homemade laundry soap that was made with baking soda and it left baking soda all over my dark clothes. I had to rinse them twice. I would go for shampoo. Or nothing at all.
Because I feel like that is something I could do, but it seems silly to get the masters in library science if I couldn't actually get a job.
I have to say, I know lots of people with librarian degrees in a variety of fields...lots in RM, archives (though that is now more hiring people graduating with AS degrees), web development, and I even know a couple who started out as Gov't researchers and became policy analysts. There is a lot of flexibility within the profession, depending on the classes and other experience you have.
Jesse, I had some homemade laundry soap that was made with baking soda and it left baking soda all over my dark clothes.
Too late! I am hoping for the best.
Wrong but funny: Dora gets roughed up in Arizona