My first job out of college was as an editorial assistant. Loved the editorial part, hated the admin stuff. My second job here at this company was an admin asst., which I really didn't like because my boss was a micromanager who had an obsession with having hard copy of just about everything that went through the department, so I spent at least half of my day standing at the copier and then watched the papers stack up on her two desks. Also, she didn't trust the writers to track their own PTO, so I had to. PITA and a stupid thing for me to do, since they were all JDs who should have known to keep track of their own damn vacation time.
'Sleeper'
Natter 66: Get Your Kicks.
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, pandas, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
There are also people in that role who really love their role as is, and I leave them be. I've come across a few who relish the 9-5 it gives them; they want to be able to leave their jobs at the office.
And there are those who want to move up the admin ladder and hit Senior Executive Admin.
I learned that one of the women here started out as a temp, was hired as an admin, then two years later took a patent paralegal course and some trademark classes, and was recently promoted to Senior Patent Paralegal, Trademark Administrator. Another woman came in as admin and then moved to Contracts. One of my old co-workers started out at as an admin and became a Drug Safety Associate as the job required it.
This could be unique to small, growing biotechs, though.
I come across an admin who has brains, ambition and a good attitude, I snag them for other roles as soon as I can.
Yeah, I've never had anyone like this as a mentor. I don't think I've ever had a mentor. I just mostly try to scrap by best I can. Mostly to not much success.
I don't know. I have always thought of myself as hard working, creative, smart, and good with people. Apparently, though...
Oh, wah. I'm getting myself into a funk. t tiny violin
Semi relatedly: I had to take the Meyer-Briggs AGAIN for theatre (we are having a team building day with HR) and I am still an INFP. This may explain my issue with my coworker as well as my inability to get ahead.
Nora- I cannot tell you how much I relate to your story. Even being encouraged to get a Master's I am reluctant, because I feel it will make me overqualified. But you up and moved to New Orleans. And, like me, you are probably not actually suited to office work, and it is going to be great for you there!
ETA: I have been actually told by supervisors that I should not work so hard or fast, because I would never fit in in University culture, where everything was slow, and not that well done!
Kat, when does your Vitamax arrive??
javachick, according to FedEx it's in Reno right now.
Well, the president of my division is a former World Languages editor, but I'm not sure that could happen these days when even our current Editor-in-Chief is actually from Sales (which is how my job became 50% market development). Le sigh.
Yeah, I've never had anyone like this as a mentor. I don't think I've ever had a mentor. I just mostly try to scrap by best I can. Mostly to not much success.
My sistah!
most of my jobs have had move up potential, but it sometimes easier to go up by moving. And I've seen lots of people move out of the library and into other parts of gov't.
I'm sorry, Nora, I didn't mean to imply that everyone with those characteristics just naturally gets up the chain. Not at all. I know far too many people who excel in their jobs and are still miserable.
I wish I could mentor more people. Actually, if I ever do leave my current workplace, it will be to go somewhere where I've got a good-sized team again. I really like coaching people, especially when I have the means and resources to really reward them with a job well done.