But the NY times is sort of painting him as typical.
Which coincidentally agrees with the Republican talking point that unemployment insurance is bad because it makes people not look for jobs.
Fred ,'Smile Time'
Off-topic discussion. Wanna talk about corsets, pandas, duct tape, or physics? This is the place. Detailed discussion of any current-season TV must be whitefonted.
But the NY times is sort of painting him as typical.
Which coincidentally agrees with the Republican talking point that unemployment insurance is bad because it makes people not look for jobs.
He may be typical of recentish grads who are trying to hold off making career decisions until after the recession? I dunno. Not my gen.
NYT has issues though.
Which coincidentally agrees with the Republican talking point that unemployment insurance is bad because it makes people not look for jobs.
Which is stupid--you're REQUIRED to keep a log of job-searching activities while on unemployment, and these days they're reviewing those a lot more carefully (I suspect in the past, they didn't review very many of them, but these days they are doing more of them--if nothing else, if you're on it a long time, the chances they'll ask for one are higher). You generally have to apply for a certain number of jobs or do a certain number of job-hunting activities (like go to classes at the unemployment center, or go to interviews) a week. AND if you get offered a job, you aren't allowed to turn it down and still remain on unemployment. (You can turn down an interview, or turn down a job before it's offered).
Timelies all!
Happy Birthday sarameg!
you're REQUIRED to keep a log of job-searching activities while on unemployment
Everywhere? California never asked me to. There was a box on my forms, but it was not checked for me.
So then, I wonder how much of the bitching about people on unemployment not wanting to take jobs really means "Won't take poorly compensated jobs." Which means corporations can't drive wages lower.
Cause if it's take the job or lose the unemployment altogether, you're kind of in a rough spot unless you have an in.
re: kids and food
mac has no interest in helping make or really adding new things to his diet. He sees me eat a hell of a lot more than he does.
semi-related - Food Update -
The woman who cleans my place every two weeks took 2 bags of stuff! WHOOT! I won't list it all here, but it takes care of a LOT!
It is hot and humid today and my a/cs are just not cutting it. I need to turn them down while the west sun is hitting my windows.
I am DONE at work, no more in the office. Still a lot to do though.
The other place there is a lot to do? My bedroom wrt packing.
15 ebay auctions sold (the cookie jar stayed at $55) and 5 more are selling. YAY!
Everywhere? California never asked me to. There was a box on my forms, but it was not checked for me.
In both Maryland and Washington, I was. And both told me they could at any time require me to send in proof that I was doing so--Washington did, at one point, require me to send in that proof. (Maryland never did, but I was still supposed to be keeping the log)
I, on the other hand, am a complete dick who feels entitled to leave work 40 minutes early because everyone else is gone, and I've pretty much done all I can without people giving me stuff, and I'm kinda lonely and want to start my weekend!
Leave early, DJ. Embrace the dick!
Erin, insent.