Yeah, we're building a race of frog-people. It's a good time

Xander ,'Selfless'


Gaming 1: You are likely to be eaten by a grue

A thread for the discussion of games: board, LARP, MMORPG, video, tabletop RPG, game theory etc. etc. and all attendant news, developments and ancillary subjects thereof, as well as coordinating/scheduling games either online or IRL. All are welcome to chime in, talk about their favorite games or learn about gaming of any sort.

PLEASE TO WHITEFONT SPOILERS for video games, RPG modules or anything for which foreknowledge of events might lessen one's enjoyment of whatever gaming experience.


megan walker - Oct 11, 2010 5:50:29 am PDT #7723 of 26134
"What kind of magical sunshine and lollipop world do you live in? Because you need to be medicated."-SFist

BSG

One thing to keep in mind is the same viper can be activated twice from Command.

I wasn't sure about that since it says you "can activate up to 2 unmanned vipers," not you can activate 1 viper twice.

I have defense against the raiders in my sector for the moment, which is why I'd rather get rid of the heavy raider first (plus you need a 7-8 to kill a raider and using an ABF quorum card you are guaranteed to get it).


billytea - Oct 11, 2010 11:22:50 am PDT #7724 of 26134
You were a wrong baby who grew up wrong. The wrong kind of wrong. It's better you hear it from a friend.

BSG

I wasn't sure about that since it says you "can activate up to 2 unmanned vipers," not you can activate 1 viper twice.

It's pretty poorly written, I think. The FAQ makes it clear that you can activate the same viper multiple times. (This applies to Apollo's CAG ability too.)


Kalshane - Oct 11, 2010 4:45:16 pm PDT #7725 of 26134
GS: If you had to choose between kicking evil in the head or the behind, which would you choose, and why? Minsc: I'm not sure I understand the question. I have two feet, do I not? You do not take a small plate when the feast of evil welcomes seconds.

BSG

I understand the concern with the heavy raider, but again, it would need to be activated twice to board, and then 4 more times before we lose. My turn or an XO is bound to come up before it gets activated that many times, even if the toasters decide to both spend their turns activating it.

I'd rather not use up a quorum card on a potential threat (heavy raider) when it works just as well against the actual threat (cylon boarder).

I will stay put and Activate Weapons Control to fire twice at the Basestar in Sector 3. Should the first shot destroy it, I will fire on the Basestar in Sector 2.


omnis_audis - Oct 11, 2010 8:10:09 pm PDT #7726 of 26134
omnis, pursue. That's an order from a shy woman who can use M-16. - Shir

BSG

Excellent. Firing on a basestar involves a die roll. Does anyone wish to play a Strategic Planning Purple 3-5 card to increase the roll by 2?


Laga - Oct 11, 2010 9:52:42 pm PDT #7727 of 26134
You should know I'm a big deal in the Resistance.

Pass on interrupts.


NoiseDesign - Oct 11, 2010 10:59:03 pm PDT #7728 of 26134
Our wings are not tired

pass


megan walker - Oct 12, 2010 5:03:26 am PDT #7729 of 26134
"What kind of magical sunshine and lollipop world do you live in? Because you need to be medicated."-SFist

BSG

I pass on interrupts.


omnis_audis - Oct 12, 2010 8:58:02 pm PDT #7730 of 26134
omnis, pursue. That's an order from a shy woman who can use M-16. - Shir

BSG

OK, we have passes and we have CO's. So let's get these rolls a rolling.

We need a 5-8 to damage a Basestar from Galactica. And the roll is: 7! Oh look! That Basestar has "Structural Damage". That means:

While it remains, all attacks against the basestar gain +2 to their die rolls.
Oooh! Shiny! Ain't that sweet. Oh, and look at that, the orders said:
to fire twice at the Basestar in Sector 3
That means we get another shot, with a +2 on the die. Let's see what action #2 rolls for us: 5! and we get to add 2 to it, which makes 7!! Critical Hit! Since a Critical hit counts as TWO hits, and the first shot counts as one hit, and you need three to destroy a basestar, dude! Y'all just destroyed a Mother Ship without using a nuke!! Frakkin' A! That's awesome!

That brings us to the next phase. Crisis Card. Yikes. After all that good. I swear, the deck was shuffled at the start of the game.

Water Shortage (b)
Presidents choice. Mr. Tyrol, the decision is now yours. E-mail to be sent shortly with the details.


billytea - Oct 12, 2010 9:03:52 pm PDT #7731 of 26134
You were a wrong baby who grew up wrong. The wrong kind of wrong. It's better you hear it from a friend.

BSG

Y'all just destroyed a Mother Ship without using a nuke!!

Weeeell, that's better than we did for sure. We used plenty of nukes to destroy your mother planets.


Laga - Oct 13, 2010 12:05:40 am PDT #7732 of 26134
You should know I'm a big deal in the Resistance.

I'm leaning towards option 2 since it only ends up being 4 skill cards.