Angel's lame. His hair goes straight up, and he's bloody stupid!

Buffybot ,'Dirty Girls'


Gaming 1: You are likely to be eaten by a grue

A thread for the discussion of games: board, LARP, MMORPG, video, tabletop RPG, game theory etc. etc. and all attendant news, developments and ancillary subjects thereof, as well as coordinating/scheduling games either online or IRL. All are welcome to chime in, talk about their favorite games or learn about gaming of any sort.

PLEASE TO WHITEFONT SPOILERS for video games, RPG modules or anything for which foreknowledge of events might lessen one's enjoyment of whatever gaming experience.


billytea - Sep 20, 2010 3:09:14 am PDT #7298 of 26134
You were a wrong baby who grew up wrong. The wrong kind of wrong. It's better you hear it from a friend.

Helo's got his re-roll, so I'm not too worried about jumping.

The amount you've been knocking back, I'm impressed you're planning on standing, let alone jumping.

And even if we do lose pop 1, that's a better result than if we hang out with all these Cylons.

Hey, your loss, Admiral "I drink alone" Tigh. Let me tell you something, we know how to PAAAARTAAAAYY!! Get the word out to the Fleet, anyone who's had enough of Colonel Crankypants, we'll have you getting down to some killer techno. In space, there's no sunrise to shut this party down!

t does the robot

t so to speak


megan walker - Sep 20, 2010 5:00:54 am PDT #7299 of 26134
"What kind of magical sunshine and lollipop world do you live in? Because you need to be medicated."-SFist

BSG

Better to get that card now than just after our jump.

So, the question is, who to XO? Chief, so that we can jump? Prez, so we can get food?

I'm assuming we jump and clear the board, but let me know.

Also, should I move? We don't draw that much Yellow and it's used on crises twice as much as red and blue put together. It would be nice on someone else's turn to be XO'ed to draw Yellow (and maybe some other colors we need).


Laga - Sep 20, 2010 7:29:12 am PDT #7300 of 26134
You should know I'm a big deal in the Resistance.

I vote for jumping but I'm undecided as to whether you should xo Chief or move to FTL yourself. I can take care of anything we need here but drawing more yellow is good too. I am ready with another xo when the turn gets back around to me.


megan walker - Sep 20, 2010 8:13:59 am PDT #7301 of 26134
"What kind of magical sunshine and lollipop world do you live in? Because you need to be medicated."-SFist

BSG

MOVE: I choose not to move.
ACTION: I play a G1 to XO Chief (with a request that we jump out of this mess).

If necessary to save population, I will use my reroll ability on the jump.

May the Gods be with us.


Laga - Sep 20, 2010 10:08:01 am PDT #7302 of 26134
You should know I'm a big deal in the Resistance.

BSG

Does anybody have Strategic Planning? If so, I would wait and apply (if needed) it to the re-roll.


DeathQuaker - Sep 20, 2010 10:50:56 am PDT #7303 of 26134
Illigitimi non carborundum

BSG

If it's possible, can we let Helo try, and then use the SP on the re-roll if he (she) decides to reroll?


Sean K - Sep 20, 2010 11:06:54 am PDT #7304 of 26134
You can't leave me to my own devices; my devices are Nap and Eat. -Zenkitty

NON-BSG/Bioshock

Any other Bioshock fans? Miracleman, if you're ever skimming in here, I know you were one.

Here's the trailer for Bioshock Infinite: [link]


megan walker - Sep 20, 2010 11:39:17 am PDT #7305 of 26134
"What kind of magical sunshine and lollipop world do you live in? Because you need to be medicated."-SFist

BSG

If it's possible, can we let Helo try, and then use the SP on the re-roll if he (she) decides to reroll?

I've been looking this up and it's not really spelled out in the rulebook. The forum at boardgamegeek seemed split on the issue.


Laga - Sep 20, 2010 12:02:15 pm PDT #7306 of 26134
You should know I'm a big deal in the Resistance.

I'm pretty sure we've done this before.


billytea - Sep 20, 2010 12:50:28 pm PDT #7307 of 26134
You were a wrong baby who grew up wrong. The wrong kind of wrong. It's better you hear it from a friend.

BSG

I don't think we've done it before in this game. If it had come up in a game I was running, the answer would've been no. I think it's pretty clear, the second roll is a reroll of the first and hence under the same conditions as the first. It thus gets all the modifiers of the first roll. (Put another way, if it gets its own modifiers, it shouldn't benefit from modifiers on the first roll.)

However, omnis is right that it is apparently contentious. With no official word, it's the GM's call.