Lindsey: Why--why did you... Lorne: One last job. You're not part of the solution, Lindsey. You never will be. Lindsey: You kill me? A flunky?! I'm not just...Angel...kills me. You...Angel... Lorne: Good night, folks.

'Not Fade Away'


Gaming 1: You are likely to be eaten by a grue

A thread for the discussion of games: board, LARP, MMORPG, video, tabletop RPG, game theory etc. etc. and all attendant news, developments and ancillary subjects thereof, as well as coordinating/scheduling games either online or IRL. All are welcome to chime in, talk about their favorite games or learn about gaming of any sort.

PLEASE TO WHITEFONT SPOILERS for video games, RPG modules or anything for which foreknowledge of events might lessen one's enjoyment of whatever gaming experience.


omnis_audis - Aug 07, 2011 12:25:05 pm PDT #12512 of 26134
omnis, pursue. That's an order from a shy woman who can use M-16. - Shir

BSG

Crap, this one again?? Better break out the stims! Mr Gaeta, reset the clock.


Polter-Cow - Aug 07, 2011 2:00:44 pm PDT #12513 of 26134
What else besides ramen can you scoop? YOU CAN SCOOP THIS WORLD FROM DARKNESS!

BSG

Fourth time's a charm! Looks like we got rid of Scar just in time.

So the wording of the Special Rule is unclear to me. What does "keep in play" mean? Does it have any effects while it's in play? If a civilian ship or basestar is destroyed, then it won't get immediately shuffled back in, is that right? That's what we were discussing last time we encountered this crisis, but the wording just says that when the fleet jumps, it gets reshuffled, period.

So I guess we try to destroy the basestar again? We don't have Raiders until it spits some out. But Zarek wants to Assign Mission Specialist, so maybe he just does that and we hope for an auto-jump and whatever, we get the card again?


billytea - Aug 07, 2011 4:18:07 pm PDT #12514 of 26134
You were a wrong baby who grew up wrong. The wrong kind of wrong. It's better you hear it from a friend.

BSG

So the wording of the Special Rule is unclear to me. What does "keep in play" mean? Does it have any effects while it's in play? If a civilian ship or basestar is destroyed, then it won't get immediately shuffled back in, is that right? That's what we were discussing last time we encountered this crisis, but the wording just says that when the fleet jumps, it gets reshuffled, period.

The wording states what happens if the card is still in play when the fleet jumps. Thus:

Civvie or basestar destroyed: card no longer in play. No effect.
No civvie or basestar destroyed: card in play. When the fleet jumps, reshuffle it into the Crisis Deck.


NoiseDesign - Aug 07, 2011 9:14:39 pm PDT #12515 of 26134
Our wings are not tired

BSG

I discard a Trust Instincts - 0 and Launch Scout - 1.


billytea - Aug 07, 2011 9:23:56 pm PDT #12516 of 26134
You were a wrong baby who grew up wrong. The wrong kind of wrong. It's better you hear it from a friend.

BSG

End-of-turn summary:

Round 4.3 - Gaeta

Locations and Hands
Chief: Press Room; 8 cards
Anders: Weapons Control; 10 cards
Gaeta: Weapons Control; 10 cards
Zarek: President's Office; 4 cards
Helo: Command; 4 cards
Apollo: Sector 4; 10 cards

Sectors
Sector 1: 1 Basestar
Sector 2: Empty
Sector 3: Civilians C
Sector 4: Civilians A B D, Apollo
Sector 5: 1 RSV, Civilians E
Sector 6: 2 RSVs, Civilians F

Resources
Fuel: 4
Food: 6
Morale: 7
Population: 8
Viper Reserves: 3
Damaged Vipers: 1
Raptors: 4
Boarding Party: 0

Other
Nukes: 2
Jump Track: 3 (Blue)
Distance Travelled: 6
Galactica Damage: 0


Laga - Aug 08, 2011 5:37:03 am PDT #12517 of 26134
You should know I'm a big deal in the Resistance.

BSG

If only there were some way to assign a mission specialist and xo someone in the same turn.


billytea - Aug 08, 2011 5:41:06 am PDT #12518 of 26134
You were a wrong baby who grew up wrong. The wrong kind of wrong. It's better you hear it from a friend.

BSG

If only there were some way to assign a mission specialist and xo someone in the same turn.

It can easily be done! Just not on Zarek's turn. Ah well.


Laga - Aug 08, 2011 6:06:49 am PDT #12519 of 26134
You should know I'm a big deal in the Resistance.

hee


chrismg - Aug 08, 2011 8:34:03 am PDT #12520 of 26134
"...and then Legolas and the Hulk destroy the entire Greek army." - Penny Arcade

BSG

It can be done on Zarek's turn too, assuming someone deals him the right cards(glares at billytea)

So I'm torn. On the one hand(literally), no one but me can play Quorum cards. On the other, XOing someone to take out the basestar would be good in multiple ways.

Helo, assuming we don't get a dire, get-out-now emergency, can I count on you to XO me next turn?


Polter-Cow - Aug 08, 2011 8:41:39 am PDT #12521 of 26134
What else besides ramen can you scoop? YOU CAN SCOOP THIS WORLD FROM DARKNESS!

BSG

An XO to Anders would work. If Helo XOs you on his turn, would you be able to do more than Assign Mission Specialist? I know there's a destructive Quorum card but don't remember if you can destroy a basestar with it. Obvs you don't have it right now or you would offer it, but you might draw it.